Don't Beat Yourself Up Or Kill Yourself Because Your Steemit Post Didn't Get Seen By a Whale (Advice From A Steemit Fulltimer)

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

The fact of the matter is a lot of the whales don't have time to be on here much.  I mean can you imagine some of the main developers.  They are fighting hackers and getting ready for this new hard fork and trying to fix bugs.  A lot of times they aren't going to have a ton of time to be on here all day.  

(Data from CatchAWhale.com)

Some of them don't upvote anything for a couple of days.  Some of them are bots and auto upvote content creators on their list.  @steemed @itsascam and @steemroller are like this.  

I'm not complaining.  It is efficient.  It is like complaining that auto check out machines are replacing people at Wal-Mart.  It is going to happen.  

I'm not mad about it.  You just have to realize that there is a low likely hood your post is going to get seen. Also even the people who are between 300 - 500 rank on SteemWhales.com don't have that much power.  Now if 10 or 15 of them grouped up and hit your post then sure.  

If you look at my blog I spend a lot of time on my posts and oftentimes get over 100 upvotes which sometimes doesn't pay out that much.  Overall I have done pretty good on here and I feel that I can continue to have success.  

The main point being don't beat yourself up if your posts didn't catch.  It is happening to all of us.  We will spend hours on a post and then make $0.36.  

Another thing we have to assume about the Whales is that they are highly technical.  So some of the post that I write like the one I just put out about how Bitcoin and Ethereum are confusing everyone with their forks / side projects probably isn't technical enough to impress the whales.  They might be like this guy is a low level scrub.  Or maybe they never saw it.  

https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/linux-distributions-aren-t-confusing-but-crypto-forks-are-why-is-that

I spent a lot of time on it and then it stalled.  

Also their bots might not catch it if it doesn't hit the right keywords or whatever.  To some of the developers we are like little dogs still barking at the door bell.  I have been on here a week.  I don't fully understand the system and I'm still figuring stuff out.  

What can we do constructively going forward.

  1. Try to get on one or many of the whales auto upvote bot lists.  I have sent some messages trying to get on.  I feel that I have proved that I'm putting in consistent hard work on my posts and that they are fairly well received.  
  2. Create a "Fish School."  You can do this two ways.  Get a ton of your real life friends on and upvote each others stuff to get the ball rolling or meet people on here.  I'm really trying to make friends on here so that we can pull each other along.  
  3. Keep reintroducing yourself.  I have introduced different facets about myself 3 times.  I will introduce myself 86 times if I have to.  If that is where the traffic and upvotes are then that is where I'm going to be.  Nobody said there was a limit. 
  4. Recycle your posts.  I took a large section out of one of my posts and had a different headline and main screenshot.  I had already done the work so I put it out there for all the new users to see.  It is new to them.  Nobody said you can't do that. 
  5. Do something innovative that nobody has done before.  For instance my friend @steve-mcclair promoted Steemit at Area 51 in Nevada.  He is lucky he isn't in prison but he has already caught the attention of one whale.  https://steemit.com/area/@steve-mcclair/area-51-steemit-has-arrived 
  6. Look at your posts as an average.  That is what I have started to have to do.  If one makes $500 and one makes $0.12 I consider that I made $250 / post.  I average out all my posts.  I have made $136 / post.  That is pretty good.  I spend several hours righting the posts and then promoting them.  
  7. Decide if you are in for the long haul.  Are you just here for a quick buck or are you trying to build up a foundation.  if you look at other platforms such as eBay or Amazon you have to build up credibility overtime to get to where you have a top performing account.  YouTube is another great example.  It takes years to gain a loyal following.  I have been on here for a week going HAM and bringing home the bacon.  I'm not complaining.  

Summary

You know I got on YouTube in 2007 and uploaded my first video in 2008 and was upset because I didn't get as many views as I thought I should.  I was mad because people's cat videos were getting more views than me.  I really did a disservice to myself by not uploading content for a couple of years.  I lost my momentum that I had and it is tough to get it back.   I told myself I was too late to the game at the time because people got started in 2005 and 2006 so they had a jump start.  Fast forward to today and some of those people who were big back then quit or lost their following as well.  Some stuck with it and became millionaires.  I'm not going to piss my chance away this time.  

#steem #steemit #linux #crypto #bitcoin #etherium #monero #craigrant

@ned @dan @steemed @itsascam @steemroller @berniesanders @dantheman @craig-grant

Sort:  

Thinking this right now :) Just made a post about it myself. There's no reason to be discouraged. Steemit is a great place and to be lucky and blessed to be here alone is payout enough for me :) Great post :)

It is tough but eventually the following aspect of this thing will improve and I'm looking to build a reputation on here and for my name to be remembered. But yeah. My last 3 posts which I have spent a lot of time on have bombed.

our whales is busy, there is a thousand of articles that they should read and they should choose which article that deserve their upvote

btw http://catchawhale.com/ is a nice website , thanks for sharing

Yeah CatchAWhale is pretty cool.

Thoughtful post.

What just remains absolutely crucial to remember is that anything is better than nothing - which is what you would have gotten on other platforms, i.e. Reddit. I've been lurking for some time now here and it's evident that although only a fraction of submissions catches on, quite a lot do get some traffic which ultimately still produces more than years on Reddit would have. I'm very positive when it comes to the future of Steemit, though I do believe we need increased filters and the like since the amount of content being pushed at all times vastly outweights what any normal user can filter through manually.

I agree. I feel like the Whales are seeing what pieces catch on with other people and then check stuff that has over 30 - 50 upvotes in a short amount of time. Like an hour. But I'm not sure how they are aggregating though it.

You should write a how to guide for not being a McBitch on Steemit!

Don't Worry I Will!

How can we get on an auto up vote bots list?

I is hard to know logically you should not feel one way because of the rules and that is the way life is. On the other had we are human and that is what is driving the success of steemit. The balance between the two. This gives you the gift of Grit....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72