You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sometimes an upvote is just the smart thing to do

in #steem8 years ago

Love your "Upvote often" ideology. Agree. :D

That said, another reason posts get neglected is coz Steem lacks some of the "Discovery Vector" mechanisms that other social platforms have.
(They help content get discovered. )

Some discovery patterns on other platforms:

  • prominent notifications (both badge-ish on site/app, and email... I don't even know to peep a new follower's posts because it's not obvious when I get a new follower)
  • reshare gestures (retweet/repin/reblog)
  • suggested/related/recommended content (YouTube great example. Medium not bad, either)
  • non-buried Trends/Trending feed (steem does have a trending feed, but it trends individual posts as opposed to themes/topics. Upsides and downsides to this.)
  • prominent feed informed by social graph
  • other suggestions informed by social graph
  • better search w/more structured into in SERPs

For anybody lurking this thread and finding it interesting, I recommend checking out the world of "mechanism design" (part of world of game theory). I'm just an amateur reader about it, but I use it all the time w/I think about social platforms for work stuff.

I'll post soon about this stuff on my steem blog (which is mostly about social platforms and media distribution).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43