[Steemit Improvement Idea] - Give a Link to the Parent Post!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever gotten a direct link to a comment? You'll probably know what I'm talking about if you've used the fantastic SteemStats by @jesta. For example, look at this following link:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jsteck/re-smooth-re-innuendo-re-dantheman-re-bitcoiner-re-dantheman-steem-dollars-have-limits-20160821t005026096z

As you can see, you'll notice right away that this is not a top level post because the title has Re in front of it. And as there are multiple Re's, you'll know right away that this is a comment many levels down. So what does the page look like?

There is really no easy way to get to the parent from here. One solution is to get to the same page on steemd.com (with my handy-dandy bookmarklet of course! [Steemit ↔ Steemd] - Quickly Switch Between Steemit.com and Steemd.com):

On Steemd, if there is a parent, it'll give you a link to it! Let's have the same thing on Steemit!

Here is what I currently do to get to the top level:


What do you think?

Help me spread the word!

UPDATE: @jesta has submitted a pull request at
https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/pull/161 / https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/pull/161
! Go check it out and do whatever you can and whatever needs to be done to get Steemit to merge it in. (I obviously don't know how open source is done lol.)

Follow me! @bitcoiner


Sort:  

I end up clicking those links all the time as well and I love the idea. I'll see how hard it would be to submit a pull request with these changes for steemit.com :)

Thank you, @jesta! Haha, I've never submitted a pull request to any open source project before, let alone one with such high importance and market cap. The Steemit community and I thank you for taking the initiative to do so!

Nice job. Once this gets merged in, I can finally close my first submitted issue to the steemit.com GitHub page. ; )

Related to that, do you think comments should also have a share dropdown as posts do (as I described in that GitHub issue) along with a "Link" option within the share dropdowns?

Oh wow, I didn't even know that issue was in there! I haven't made it back that far yet, maybe I need to dig to the bottom and see what some of the first ideas were. Happy to be the one knocking it out ;)

Regarding the link - my original thought was to actually change the link behind each timestamp to use the direct link for the comment. That's pretty common practice for most social platforms. Right now they go to the original post, with an anchor to the comment, which isn't as common. That I feel requires a bit of discussion though as it's altering an existing behavior.

We do need a way from a comment to get a link to the comment though (not the anchor tag link). So yeah, maybe we put it in the share dropdown somehow. We could also probably add a permalinktext link next to reply as well. All good options!

Wow! Excellent job as always, @jesta! Simple and nice UI =D

One day I'll learn React and JSX so I can hopefully help out haha

(Can't nest more) @jesta, regarding the anchor link, that is good as you are on the top level post but are then scrolled to the anchored comment. If you want to view the top level post you'll just have to scroll to the very top (maybe a Scroll to the Top or Back to the Top floating link would be nice here). However, sometimes the page has a lot of content and takes a while to load and the scrolling will be delayed leading to confusion. Perhaps in this case, the anchored comment should highlight for a split second for visual feedback.

Hi @jesta, thanks for doing this! I see it is live now but there is an issue. Please see - https://steemit.com/steem/@bitcoiner/steemit-improvement-idea-update-implemented-and-live-bug-remains

Good work to everyone in the comments working together! :)

Thanks! @jesta really has it all figured out! Now we've gotta work together to get this idea post to be seen by more people! =O =D

Once again another great post by Bitcoiner. I'll have to use this method of course using your handy-dandy bookmarklet :)

Oh thank you very much for the kind words and high praise! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79