steemit is not a meritocracy

in #steem8 years ago

Trending at the top of the front-page are two articles that have a combined reward of $27,951.88 after only 10 hours. With five hours remaining, I imagine this number to go up substantially.

Before I get into the crux of my post I want to make one thing clear: I welcome these authors with open arms and hope they enjoy steemit as much as I do. This is not a personal attack on them.

I just want to express how I'm feeling, and I don't feel great.

If only we were all famous, then we'd be equal

Jeff and Brenda have something in common: they have status and a following outside steemit. This is a huge deal for steemit because it presents an opportunity to spread the word and grow the community. For those who believe in steemit and want it to succeed in the long run, this is a good thing.

But do these posts deserve a large reward and is it fair?

The introduction in the steemit whitepaper lists three principles that guided steemit's design. The second principle states that all forms of capital are equally valuable:

This means that those who contribute their scarce time and attention toward producing and curating content for others are just as valuable as those who contribute their scarce cash. This is the sweat equity principle and is a concept that prior cryptocurrencies have often had trouble providing to more than a few dozen individuals.

I pride myself on writing thoughtful, quality content that Steemers will find interesting. I spend a couple of hours writing each post. I also spend a substantial amount of time engaging with Steemers on steemit.chat and curating content.

Yet both Jeff and Brenda have earned a much higher reward and have a higher reputation for much less work and much less engagement with the community. This is especially clear in the post by Jeff which stands at just eighty-two words.

And this leaves me feeling dejected and disappointed.

The status and followers that the authors have are another form of capital being brought into the economy, but they are being rewarded disproportionately to other capital, violating the second principle.

If you are famous and have a following, you don't need to work as hard to be rewarded for your effort; you start on a higher level. Perhaps that's just life?

Am I suffering from cognitive dissonance?

Yesterday I wrote a post about cognitive dissonance suggesting that some authors accuse steemit and whales of being unfair as an explanation for their posts performing poorly to avoid having to accept that the post wasn't good enough.

The steemit whitepaper describes a similar behaviour, expressing it as a benefit to the economy:

The economic effect of this is similar to a lottery where people over-estimate their probability of getting votes and thus do more work than the expected value of their reward and thereby maximize the total amount of work performed in service of the community.

Is this happening to me? Am I reconciling the fact I spent hours writing posts that have done poorly when others benefit with little effort by blaming steemit? Have I really overestimated my worth?

I don't think so.

The post I wrote is the second in a series about cognitive biases. Both are written in a similar style, with a similar structure, and related titles:

Whilst the first post did quite well earning $576, the second post only managed $28.05 - a substantial difference. I would expect the second article to do as well as the first given that they are very similar in style and content.

Recognizing contribution

Whenever my post doesn't do as well as I imagined I always respond the same: what can I do better? I spend more time on each post to make it better than the last. I provide more useful comments on other posts. I spend more time talking on steemit.chat getting to know the people who's articles I read every day.

As Boxer in Animal Farm says: "I will work harder".

Except it doesn't get better for everyone. And it can't. The system can't support it:

The impact of this voting and payout distribution is to offer large bounties for good content while still rewarding smaller players for their long-tail contribution.

There have to be small players to allow the large bounties. While you believe you will be rewarded for your effort and quality content, the system can only support so much; in the meantime, you feel you just have to work harder.

But because a lot of the large bounties go to the same author or those who have unequal capital, it creates the feeling of imbalance.

Everyone’s meaningful contribution to the community should be recognized for the value it adds. When people are recognized for their meaningful contributions, they continue contributing and the community grows. Any imbalance in the give and take within a community is unsustainable. Eventually the givers grow tired of supporting the takers and disengage from the community.

I'm growing tired of working hard while seeing others earn big rewards for less. I'm growing tired of always thinking: "If I work harder, the next post will be recognized".


All Steemians are equal, but some are more equal than others.

Sort:  

I believe you are making an error on one of your base premises. You aren't supposed to be rewarded proportionally to the work you've done. That would be the Labor Theory of Value.. which is invalid ^^
In bitcoin your mining hardware will work hard allll the time. That doesn't mean you'll be the one to find the nonce and get the block reward.
To mitigate this risk, people have formed mining pools. I don't see why bloggers couldn't just band together and share the blogging rewards among themselves.
A publication like Liberty.me could jump on steem and pool all the blogging rewards into one wallet and then divide up the pot equally between writters.
Writing pools would be equal to mining pools. Distribute the risk/reward between multiple humans/mining rigs.

Here's something I just wrote that addresses some of your points.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cob/on-fairness-rewards-whales-and-a-bright-bright-future

Hope you enjoy the short read and it keeps you on the platform sir! You have good stuff. Don't give up when Steem(it) is just in it's infancy! More will join, you will gain followers, followers will support you as long as they enjoy what you pump out.

I think pools are a great idea, it'd be similar to how Medium has their publications.

I upvote U

I had a discussion in chat similar to this yesterday. The problem is in the fact that steemit is built upon the foundation of an existing society, not a new creation unto itself. Therefore, it carries with it a foundation that has all of the problems of our current society, and tries to correct things from there.

My previous conversation on this, in a nutshell, was that "sex sells" and how some authors feel slighted when a post that appeals to the carnal nature of others, no matter how poorly written (if there's really any writing at all) can garner a much bigger following and payout than a well-researched and excellent article on some other subject.

The base issue is similar. People with money can make money easily. If a famous actor joins steemit, they'll likely get a ton of upvotes and comments due to their pre-existing social and monetary status. If someone panders to the least common denominator of the masses, they'll likely get more attention than someone that spends the time to try to provide thoughtful content.

I dont have the answer to this equation, since we cant all have a factory reset performed on ourselves before joining.

That's an interesting comment.

I considered the parallels with real life while I was writing and it's true, they are there. I'm afraid of that being used to dismiss the way steemit makes me feel. I think that's what I wanted to get across, that I don't feel so great.

A lot of effort seems to have been put into the foundation of the economy in steemit, but the socio-political aspects are side-effects; at least from the political side.

There appear to be aspects of democracy (we vote), aristocracy (the whales have more power), capitalism (content rewards, mining), marxism (cooperative ownership in that wealth is spread out)...

Maybe there is more, I'm not an expert in politics. I would absolutely love to read an experts opinion on steemit from this perspective though!

I think one thing users should stay focused on is to upvote useful content, it won't solve the problem but your upvotes are the only way you can reward posts you think are worthwhile. Also I think for this community to flourish people need to feel an insentive to reply to posts and to get into discussions which means its super important that Ssteemians also remember to UPVOTE GOOD REPLIES. imo.

Loading...

Hi @bitcalm - I finally made it over here to see what you had to say. I am so on board with everything you've listed, from putting in hours of time to write quality material, to engaging, commenting, upvoting... There's a small voice in my head that asks, "What more can I do?" The reality is NOTHING There is nothing more I can do - not because I'm satisfied with the status quo but because I don't have the traction inside or outside Steemit. If I worried about making a dime here, I think my writing would cease to be fun, you know? It's my escape. And if it ever stops being fun then I'd have to quit it in a heartbeat. I have enough stress in my life to add cognitive dissonance to the mix. LOL I can't do it. I won't.

My joy also comes in finding gems like you posting quality material without exposing your genitals. Thank you for that!

I don't understand why you'd expect equality.
We're individuals and we act on our interests. We make actions that we expect to return value to us. If people upvote users which are expected to return value to their investments then they're acting pretty rationally.
Not sure why equality even means anything.

Good question and it depends on what you mean by equality.

In the post I mean equality on Steemit. That Steemers are given equal opportunity to be rewarded based on the same standards. When steemit presents itself as a meritocracy, the reward should be based on the how talented the author was in producing the content. Newcomers that shoot to the top because of who they are or who they know are being rewarded differently. It also puts them in a beneficial position: their future posts have more chance of being highly rewarded. I consider both cases disproportionate.

I understand your cynicism. The attraction to Steemit is its reward system. But not everyone is motivated by personal gain, and under the surface Steemit has a lot to offer, which many have posted about.

Equality is important because without equality there is no justice. Those born into a monarchy or an aristocracy have more rights than those who aren't, and your life suffers because of it.

Not really. Steemit presents itself as a meritocracy - fair enough.
Butnot based on talent but based on the value individuals hope to extract from your post. That might pleasure of reading content, or in creating a bullish environment to protect your SP holdings.
Hence why a famous person may attract more upvotes.

I consider that a benefit for the good of steemit but not for the individual. There needs to be balance between the two: without one, the other cannot survive.

In my mind, the better way to view your earnings is that you made $576.81 + $28.05 = $604.86 / 2 = $302.43 per article. You're going to have winners and losers, even targeting the same topic. You had roughly the same number of upvotes and comments, so it's not like there was less interest. It just didn't get whale attention. It happens.

Looking at your articles, I'm a little surprised you're disappointed in how much you've earned. It seems like you're doing quite well to me.

I do agree with your main point though. It's a little crazy how much some posts have earned relative to the quality of the material.

Boobs rank at the moment, especially celebrity boobs, because whales support driving as many people as possible to Steemit in the current phase. The oversaturation for boob posts will arrive soon and there won't be a need to promote Steem through boobs anymore.

I agree with you The little people haven't got a chance of doing as well as those you mentioned, they are doing well as they are famous already that's a massive advantage for them. I write because I like doing I have never thought I would hit it rich on here as there are not enough readers to the amount of posts that's posted... if you get what I am saying

Well said, and well written. The steemit platform offers so much hope & potential, yet the more time I spend on here, the more it seems like vanity, popularity, big tits, & dumb luck rule.

It almost looks feels like a lottery win when you see what's getting rewarded, even modestly, day in day out..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05