Project S - Day 1: STEEM blockchain programming; baby stepssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

How it started


So, we (@exyle, @s3rg3, @eqko and me), were talking STEEM at a birthday party. @exyle and @s3rg3 had some great idea's about a project based on the STEEM blockchain. We decided we'd go for it, but needed some smaller project to start with. Just to get a feel for how the STEEM blockchain actually works and how to develop software for it. @eqko was missing a feature (not going to tell you what it is, yet), so that became Project S, an iOS app.

Project S - Day 1


Right... an iOS app. Where to begin?! Well, let's start with seeing what software libraries are available for Python. I know Python pretty well (at least I like to think I do), and use it almost daily at work. Also, it's a great language for fast prototyping, yet stable enough for production quality applications.

Luckily, there seems to be an "official" Python library for interaction with the blockchain, steem-python, a fork of (Piston library by @xeroc) - or the other way around, I'm not sure. After sifting through most of the code to see how it actually works, I wrote a few lines of code to try it out:

from datetime import datetime

from steem import Steem

s = Steem()
for post in s.stream_comments():
    if "steem" in post.body.lower():
        print("{} | {} - {}".format(datetime.utcnow(), post.author, post.title))

output:
Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 23.37.41.png

Neat! Unfortunately, it crashed after a few minutes because of what I believe to be a sync issue. Worked around that and let my new code run overnight. In the morning it was still running as it should, so I think I have a good base to start from. I won't be needing all the fancy stuff from the library anyways.

Thanks for reading and STEEM on!


NEXT UP: iOS programming in Swift!

Sort:  

nice one .this information could help a newbie like me

Thanks. I'll try to make some tutorials later on for people looking to get started.

This is going to be so cool man. ✋🏻

Def! Can't wait!

Man, can't believe this is actually happening. Fantastic! Also, what a cool subject to blog about. Programming on the blockchain. You have my full support.

Thanks man! I think I could make this into an ongoing series if people like it.

I'm so looking forward to see that, unfortunately I don't have an iOS, but you guys are going to kick asses with this job. So cool! Congrats

Thanks Bianca!

I don't understand much about what you are writing, but I hope to understand more one day. In Exyle I have a good teacher!!
I will keep following you, maybe one day I will understand what this all means.
I wish you all good luck!!

Thanks @clio, really appreciated. Don't worry too much about the inner workings of programming for the blockchain. It would be nice if more and more people that know how to do it, actually make great tools that are connected to the STEEM blockchain. It makes it more useful to everybody in the long run.

Ooh, that gives me the beginnings of another idea for something to build ... just a faint shimmer on the horizon, but it might be something cool if I can crystallize that idea. Let's talk about it soon :)

I'm all ears ;)
I have some faint ideas myself as well, but first things first..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57