You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Rank - Using Page Rank Algorithm for Better Curation and Rewards

in #steem8 years ago

Yes and that is another thing about steemit I like. Not everyone wants to make large sums of money or treat it as a job. You may simply enjoy reading articles and making a little money commenting or posting pictures you've taken.

Steemit is one of the few places I know where the people at the top are not consumed with greed. I don't see @ned and @dan looking for ways to cut back rewards and pad their own pocket. They are building wealth by allowing others to become successful and may take a pay cut to do so. But can anyone honestly tell me they would rather have Zuckerberg running steemit than @ned and @dan?

Sort:  


All Your Base Belong to Zuckerberg

I feel that their should be rewards for people that are early to upvote content that becomes very successful...

And while I love the feed of people I follow, at the same time when I'm looking at all my favorite posters, I am not discovering new people. This would frustrate me if I was in their shoes.

I agree with the goal and reason why we need it, but the algorithm you suggest (which is in place) does not accomplish the goal and appears to incentivize the opposite result of a circlejerk groupthink as @condra above as well I explained.

I believe you are actually supporting a feature which is destroying what you want.

It is a situation that definitely has a complex solution needed @anonymint. I'm not steadfast in any position and great ideas can flow from people with multiple points of view, so the more people that weigh in the better.

I believe you are actually supporting a feature which is destroying what you want.

I wish I had an easy answer, but I believe it will take some trial and error putting together this solution. But keep up the good conversation. I really value everyone's opinion as long as they are adding insight to the comments beyond throwaway comments like "Great post!" Those do nothing in my mind except make me leery about following them.

Comments are just as valuable as content and should be treated with the same respect and thought when possible. Not only does it engage others, but it shows you actually took the time to read the bloggers content instead of simply upvoting and making a quick comment hoping a whale will feel generous that day.

In response to @anonymint: if I'm not mistaken, steemit related posts are declining as a percentage of total posts. And whale holdings are also declining as a percentage of total steem/steem power. So I think we're moving in the right direction -- toward having a more diversified platform on multiple levels.

Could things be tweaked and refined? Of course, but I think it's a far stretch to say the reward for early voting (of content that becomes popular) defeats the purpose, let alone "destroys what you want", as you so dramatically put it.

And whale holdings are also declining as a percentage of total steem/steem power.

That trend reversed:

https://steemit.com/stats/@liberosist/steem-power-distribution-trends-august-update-the-re-distribution-skips-down

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20