The Steem Life: Strategic Spamming and Learning

in #steem5 years ago

The Steem Life is a series of articles that highlight my journey so far and hopefully motivate others.

Previous Episodes:


pixabay

Don't Cry

Steem blockchain is what I like to call an Onion Society. It is a society with many sub layers of societies that could be so frustrating they'll make you cry but you know damn well you need to put in your food. Can you live without it? yes you can, but not everyone can. I love the taste of onion in my food..

Gung ho

My first contact with Steem communities was as a result of my interactions with other steemians like myself. Prior to participating in community activities, I went in gung ho, dropping comment after comment on different posts about various topics.

My initial approach was crude, though it had its benefits of course. That's also something I learned during this phase; that you can also receive big upvotes simply through your "intelligent" comment from participation. Remember that at this time, I was still all about the money and all my activities were channeled towards that.


pixabay

Strategic Spamming

At this point, I honestly didn't know the actual use of Steem power. I did not read the whitepaper, blue paper or any paper for that matter. I dived in blind and was hungry for financial success. It led me to inventing a system of interaction that proved to be a major success.

Around this time, the price of steem was still high and like I pointed out in the previous episode, even the tiniest upvote meant a lot to me. I developed a system that I call strategic spamming. What I did basically was target every Steemian with a reputation of 58 and above. The strategy involved reading the first two sentences of each paragraph of the post, culling some meaning and replying intelligently. It was a huge success.

I have to admit that I actually didn't know that thing was called "reputation". All I knew was, it seemed like the higher your number goes, the higher your reward. With exception to a certain @bernisanders but that's a discussion for another day.

Contests and Participation

So here I was, dropping comments on the "big boys" around the block. I didn't know who was a whale or who wasn't. I was simply trying to get the attention of people with big numbers beside their name. Every now and then I'd get a tiny upvote and hell, my comments became more lucrative than my brilliant content.

This intelligent spamming technique led me to encounter various contests and community programs through the posts of the random people I interacted with. There were so many contests I encountered back then and even till today, there are numerous sort of contests still running.

Some of these contests led to the creation of various sub communities on the Steem Blockchain. Back then, I participated in a couple of writing contests; some of them earned me money while others developed me.

Ticking Communities

Here are some of the contests and shows I can remember participating in;

  • @stach community hosted a short writing contest
  • @karenmckersie use to host a writng contest about the power of positivity
  • @mariannewest hosted and still hosts the 5 minute freewrite. This particular one has grown into a large community.

I saved the last for the best because my all time favorite community around here is @comedyopenmic community. I'll tell you a little bit more about them in the next episode.

Steem is a decentralized platform and the beauty of it is that it is the community that builds everything from within. We create value for ourselves through our posts, dapps and communities.

The Steem Life is a series of articles that highlight my journey so far and hopefully motivate others.

Previous Episodes:

You can also find me on;

Twitter

Facebook

LinkedIn

Sort:  

For a total idiot, you did good.

Repping all the idiots out there

Sounds like you found a good strategy for yourself 👍It must work, you are still here 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

The force is with you! You got a 17.50% upvote from @steemyoda courtesy of @belemo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41