Becoming a Witness: Ordering New Over-Powered PC

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

Recently I wrote about my old PC dying on me in "Death of McFrankenstein", so since then I have been on the lookout for my next PC build. Well... eBay had a 20% off tech sale annnnd 4000+ dollars later…

My new PC Build looks like this:

Bought

  • 1 x AMD 16 Core Ryzen Threadripper 1950X (The 1920X was out of stock of all things?)
  • 1 x Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming 7
  • 1 x Corsair Obsidian Series 900D Super Tower
  • 1 x Thermaltake Water 3.0 Riing RGB 360mm
  • 2 x G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz
  • 2 x Samsung 960 Evo 250GB M.2
  • 3x Seagate IronWolf 8TB
    Migrating from old build
  • NVIDIA 970
  • NVIDIA 1080
  • 550 Watt power supply
  • 750 Watt power supply

It's safe to say that this pc is going to be a little bit stupidly overpowered! haha

I'm not writing this post to show off and burning money I don’t have. Quite the opposite actually, the on going power bill alone wouldn’t make it worth it! I plan on running this as many virtual machines using a nice OS called UnRaid. Unraid is based off the Red Hat OS for Linux, and while its primary purpose is to be a NAS system, it does allow virtual machines like windows to be run too! Heres a link to the website "https://lime-technology.com" however, I think Linus Tech Tips on youtube does a better job in explaining it.

Anyway, on to the point of the article! While sure I'll be running the standard virtual tropes of Plex, Windows, Linux, CryptoMining. My good friend @holoz0r gave me the idea of becoming​ a "Witness" on steam, only the second in Australia. So this will be the first of, I'm​ not certain how many posts on the journey to building the next witness in Australia from start to finish.. with all the problems in between.


Stan-Lee-GOTGV2-e1494607392536.jpg

But I’m interested now, I wasn't originally going to do this, but If you have read this far, what other ideas for virtual machines do you have. Post it in the comments.. maybe there will be something I haven’t thought of, any and all ideas are greatly appreciated :)!


Until then

images.jpg.jpg
See you in the next installment!

Sort:  

Congratulations @beet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

that's amazing machine would be great for mining

That's gorgeous on your part. I really like the initiative

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65