I almost lost my account !!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)



Link

I almost lost my account yesterday due to Phishing, and it was a really close call!
A comment from @rajatj205 saying someone had copied my work without my permission so I clicked on the link to see what the fuss was all about!


Link

The website It took me to was so similar to steemit it looked perfectly alike!

The only fishy thing was that it asked for my password again. If you have noticed Steemit doesn't do that when you open a new tab. I was quite surprised and was lazy to re-enter my password. So I just viewed it and closed the tab.

Later I received a comment from @arcange stating

phishing.JPG

Then I revisited the link and I was surprised to see this

YFIR1j.png

Man that was close!! If I had entered my password there I would have gift wrapped it and directly handed it over to the scammer and there is nothing I could have done later on.

Everytime you enter a password make sure you see this

awfawfawf.JPG

Note : The domain name might be anything other than steemit so keep that in mind

The money we made here, didn't just appear overnight. We worked hard for it right? And there is this asshole somewhere out there trying to steal all of it just by fooling us. Let me tell you this there was no such thing a few months back it was all clean, since there is more money/users involved now the scammers eyes are upon the vulnerable .

addad.JPG

So this post is a heads up for you guys so that you don't fall into the same trap and be a VICTIM of phishing.


If you see such activities make sure you report them to either @steemcleaners on steemit.chat or @arcange they shall take care of it!

Stay safe, stay secured!! Have a good day fellas!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing it will help to all Steemians for not being fooled by dummy site.

Really a sad news sir.
And thanks for inform us about this.
We cannot cheat by at this account.

That was a close call dude!

Luckily you did not give in your password but ej...these things will be happening over and over unfortunately :(

Yup it's like a new era of shit storm

Thanks for the heads up, it is way to easy to let down our guard. I always bookmark and look for https://steemit.com. Somewhere i saw where they just changed 1 character, look close be safe. I think also it's best to keep most of Steep Powered up, it would take them three month to get your funds out :)
resteemed.....

thanks to you for sharing this post.

That's a hassle if you lost you're account perhaps for a couple of weeks.

That's scary!

Thanks for the security alert. Scammers are some of the worst types of people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86