Building a mining farm (Post 1 - Initial Overview)

in #steem7 years ago

Hi everyone!
So I've embarked on this journey to build a mining farm for ETH, ZEC, LTC, and BTC. After purchasing the components for 3 separate GPU mining machines, I've successfully reached a stable network hash rate of right around 451 MH/s while mining on the Nanopool Ethereum pool.
IMG_4576.PNG
For those interested in how it might work, the ROI, and what speculation looks like in the long run:
-Each machine costs roughly $2,000 USD to build.
-At 451 MH/s, I was mining somewhere between .46 and .5 ETH per day depending on the fluctuations in the network hash rate.
-Converting it to USD on an exchange puts me somewhere between $35-45 per day depending on the fluctuations in the conversion of ETH to USD, minus the pool take and the exchange take on transfers and withdrawals.
-Depending on your individual KW/h power cost, you can end up around $400/month gross profit per machine.
-Assuming that the network hash rate doesn't drastically increase and that the price of ETH doesn't fall, you're looking at roughly 5 months until reaching your breakeven.
-The majority of the ETH that I've mined has been moved to other accounts, my Poloniex exchange account, or even converted to USD on an exchange and wired back into my bank account.
-At this time, I've torn down the mining machines and put all of the components back in their boxes for transport to a larger facility to industrialize/save on electricity once scaling is complete.IMG_4573.PNG

In the next posts, I'll be uploading some of the design specs, the PVC case build schematics (for individual rigs), and some of my methodologies on how to build a mining rig yourself! Feel free to ask me any questions, stay tuned for updates, and enjoy!

Sort:  

Nice work and have fun! What are you using to mine? It looks like your at ~25mh a card, you might be able optimize get a whole heckton more out of your cards depending on what they are.

Hey @yminesandblogs! Running ethOS with remote config files hosted on VPS w/ digital ocean droplets... originally was using Windows but had stability issues. One machine's cards are hitting 27 MH/s, but same config led to stability issues on two other machines so they are running stock at ~25 MH/s. All 18 cards are Radeon RX 480 8GB, 6 are XFX with backplate housing, 6 are Gigabyte, 5 are XFX (dual fan), one is Sapphire Nitro.

Ah 480's in which case a good ol' BIOS mod should get them into the 28-30 territory. I've currently got 7 RX (4/580's) sitting at 210mh/s reported. I don't know how EthOS handles things since I'm on windows ten, but from the impression I get Linux appears to be the more flexible in terms of cards/mods than windows. I can give you some guidance in terms of the flashing process if you need it in terms of software and process (though if you go through my limited know-how you'll be flashing in windows).

Also, are you on H81 PRO BTC's? If so I'm jealous, I can't find one without paying a fortune.

Congratulations @austorms! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46