Celebrating Steemit's 1M Accounts Milestone

in #steem6 years ago

Hey, hey, hey! Steemit just got its 1Millionth account milestone!

I found this platform almost a year ago and it has changed my online habits since then. I learned a lot through this platform and I made it a point to share it with most people I know.

Why do I steem?

1. Rewards
I first came here with the idea that I can earn rewards for each blog I make. Initially, with "rewards" I thought it was in dollars,so great. However, only after posting my intro and reading more articles in here, that I found out about crypto currencies.

I must have lived under a rock for so long!

Why did I not know about cryptos earlier?!

2. Community
Reading on, I found that steemit is not just a blogging platform. It is a community. And a community with a heart! At that time, on #trending, I was touched at how the community came together to help a steemian in need. Check out this post if you want to know more:

Fellow Steemers, I Need Help as My MRI Results Are Not Encouraging

I have not seen anything like this on the other social media I was in before! What? Coming together to help someone from across the globe, you have not even met personally? That was amazing.

3. Charity
I realized that CHARITY is not too hard to make on Steemit. How many times have I come across a plea for help on FB and I was not able to help because (1) I do not have the financial means, (2) even if I did, how do I give my donation? Go out and deposit to their bank accounts?

With steemit you do not have to do that. I did not have to shell out money money, but I could give a portion of my earnings to whoever it was I found I could help just by giving my tiny upvote or transferring some sbd's or steem direct to his/her wallet.

All of these, I was able to do while I express myself through blogs.

I normally write about my parenting woes and glees, our homeschool adventures and everything else under the sun. It makes me happy that I can share my boring self to others but still get appreciated.

Then of course, the joy of finding great content from other writers...

And guess what? I met a lot of people too!

Across many nations, from my country and from my current location, I was able to become a part of different communities. It is so nice to know so many bright and lovely people that I never thought I would even meet.

I have organized 3 steemit Meet and Greet here in the UAE so far, and it was so fulfilling.

11 months and counting.

I am glad that I am still here and I am one of these 1 million accounts, and that I am still actively steeming daily. I guess it would stay that way for a long time...

@aggroed's Scavenger Hunt!

@aggroed has been keeping track and shared a fantastic news to the steemit community by way of giving - check out what I mean on his post here - 1 Millionth Steem account scavenger hunt. 300 SBD up for grabs!

See? Where else within the world wide web can you find something like this?!


banner by @enginewitty


Image: (c)2018 CC0 Creative Commons, rgaudet17 on Pixabay
Sort:  

May account ako nong 2016 kinalimutan ko kasi walang pumapansin sakin wala ako nakitang pinoy at huli na pinanganak si @cleverbot sana pinagtyagaan ko sya kung andito na sya August haha 😁

Ngeee... sayang! Hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83