You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Growing With Steem! (42) Reputation Score | Estimated Account Value $110.49

in #steem7 years ago

When I was at university I had some seminars with a posh English postgradute that travelled to Nigeria to study body art and masquerade traditions. I really enjoyed learning about the Yoruba and Fon etc. But the funniest was when he told he he paid some locals to 'initiate him into their mysteries'. They took his money and then gave him a ceremony that involved taking him into the bush and beating him with sticks. An important lesson learned?

Sort:  

Hahaha first of all, he could have gave Google a chance with research on body art and masquerade or maybe he just a little kinky and want to get beaten with sticks. LoL I dont know man, but today have been a good. I keep hearing random funny jokes, weird ones, crazy one and mysterious one lol.

He was teaching us this back in 1994, so he was there prior to Google even existing. I suspect he approached the tradition without proper respect. Thought he could just buy himself an initiation and it would somehow mean something. Since then I've known people that had better luck... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65