Sort:  

True. I really don't like the bots posting on shitty posts, but decentralization is the key of blockchain technology. We are still in beta and learning how to grow responsibly. Is just up to us, don't want to end up like Facebook.

Indeed, @anglotrucker!

I think also their criteria should be revised to assess the big picture behind the Steem users contribution as well that go beyond just blogging.

For instance, I spend many hours working on @flagawhale updates and designing / executing the background script tasks which have been part of the campaign against Haejin that have recovered over $25k SBD to the reward pool. This sort of thing is all part of my ethos to render Steem more friendly to the little guy which honestly, any way you shake it (whitelist or not), bid bots are the antithesis of. They make Steem pay to play. I think we get enough of that shit with politics. I did have a positive outlook about the whitelist and hoped it would have happened once they seen what I am about. I believe there is a niche on Steem for people like me whitelist or not.

My blogs are ok. I like original memes variations. I like to zap when I feel I have thought of something I believe is insightful. These things are considered substandard. Hell, I get some serious laughs from a good meme. That's value. I don't care who ya are.

Yes, my full blown blogs are sparse since I have gotten deeper in my projects. If you look back far enough, you'll find some well written articles about religion if I don't say so myself.

But to @smartsteem, I am just another reject. Welp. I'll take that as fuel for the fire.

Hi @anthonyadavisii . Thanks for your comment. I too am in the same boat. Still pending after joining Steemit in January. I guess @smartsteem deems my content not good enough either. Do you know what? I no longer care because I won't be using any bots or selling any votes. They are not making Steemit a better platform to use.

I agree wholeheartedly. This seems like a very easy way for a lot of STEEM to go to a few users, making it harder for people new to the platform to make a genuine difference.

The mechanics built directly into the blockchain should accomplish what smartsteem is trying to do, in a more decentralized and more fair manner.

The fact is that humans will always have biases, and a small group of people (i.e., the smartsteem reviewers—only 8!) will have a very narrow set of biases. These will necessarily influence the selection of stars, biasing which authors get propelled to profit and which don't.

I trust the masses more than I trust smartsteem to determine which content should be valued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65