The Price of Steem is Crashing. These memes will surely help.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I'm upset that Steem is an oligarchy and that 97% of the steem exists in 0.03% of the Steem accounts.  The downward pressure that these oligarchs cause as they sell is enormous relative to the handful of people attempting to invest in steem.  It is causing the price to crash, which in turn means that the meager rewards your post got are further divided by 4.Until the distribution is changed or until mega buyers start dropping dollars into Steem as an investment the price is likely to continue falling, which means the return on my time investment will continue to drop.  I've made some memes to commemorate the price falling off a cliff and the rapid deterioration of  monetary value I've spent the last 2 months attempting to grow.  Oh well.  At least I had a laugh.




Sort:  

This is exactly the problem with crypto currencies. Other than Bitcoin everyone just dumps when the price trends down. You all should honestly be looking at this as an opportunity to become a whale and power up on the cheap. All us users have to do is devote what, idk, but a lot less time than I did setting up .bat files and mining dogs pin to see it tank or all the other alt coins that had nothing to offer but coins. I really feel this is a bad way of thinking and we are in control. Spend $5 and power up. Is $5 going to kill you? You can't expect to cash out if you didn't buy in. Content creation is one of the best parts of this platform and the Meme's were funny but don't actively kill and promote a narrative that it's already dead. Go for the long play and like early adopters of Bitcoin laugh as those Steem coins go back to a dollar US and the infrastructure is already here to tweak it into the next Twitter ornintragram or nameless other social networks that give you nothing. Let's make this the Wikipedia of social networks and put all our minds into it, believe in it, and it will go up. Water the plant. You guys don't know what we can have here. Yes the distribution is off but so is money in the USA. Want less income inequality than keep chugging away, don't quit your day job but have this as something that could be huge one day and you won't be saying I used to use that before it made the news and became popular and you traded your coins for $3. I am someone that had thousands of Bitcoin when they were worth nothing and they were gone when my old desktop broke. Millions sitting in the landfill. Stay positive. Buy when it gets low and let's try and keep it above a quarter. Then $0.50. Once we break thru and reach over $1 we have come a far way and in the world of alt coins we would be top three. All you need to do is believe in the platform, air it out if youngster that you got nothing for your content but don't forget Facebook and Twitter don't give you shit for it. At least here we crypto geeks have a home and can make our millions as early adopters and thru our content promote ourselves as individuals. Those gift cards you have lying around with $3.75 on them, like ten I Have, power up! This is a time for the possibility offsite rewards but as always we shoot ourselves in the foot by dumping. Why? Why even waste your time selling for such a low price when you can merely sit on it and stabilize the price. Learn from the stock market. Is the product more or less valuable than what I can buy a share for? Steemit is very undervalued now. Buy, buy, buy. I am telling you folks Steemit is in our hands. If it fails its because we failed it and dumped the coins. For so little money. Grow with Steemit and believe and buy some coins. Trend the price upwards and Steemit will thrive. It might be your last chance to become a crypto whale. Or sell out and tank all the work we put in. Fuck that. Let's get rich people. Buy Steem. Buy buy buy. The cheaper the better, the more I can buy. More buyers than sellers= price increases and you just made short term money but this platform is all about the long play. Picture being partners with Zuckerburg before Facebook became popular. Then in years as it grew it became a valuable company. Now the company goes public. This will take time and it's meant to. Don't be fools. The destiny of STEEM prices and this platform is in our hands. Let's be Bitcoin whales, no, let's be Steemit giants!

I agree. I just signed up like 20 minutes ago. I watched over an hour of youtube on steem, testimonies and how too's, to get some flavor if I should join or not, last night and early this morning.
This is the second post I have seen.And my thoughts are why did I join. Well because I felt like writing my memoirs for years and this sparked me to do it here. So I am happy just to be here. As I have just learned a little about bitcoin and "blockchain",this is a "go" for me. Most of the testimonials say "you don't get paid anywhere else".So my motive is on the hope that Steemit offers.
Plus I am now motivated to do my memoir. I want my memoir to be a statement to all my critics in my personal life including family.Maybe I am just old school about not giving up so easy.I mean this is a funny post. I just helped you by replying. Not to destroy Steemit,but to help you with tools that this site provides and if I understand it right I may helped myself as well.
Giving up is never a solution. Except that which you choose to loose.
I heard the co-founders

from Aug 6th. They are confident and hopeful.
I hope you spread some hope too. Peace

I love this comment! I've been powering up everything I possibly can! I hope we can have new whales later on!

This may be a little harsh, but here's what will happen to your $5 investment. It will become $2.50, and then it will become less. The price is going to continue crashing because supply far outstrips demand. The demand won't return as long as this place is a ponzi scheme or until some big monied person is happy to have it be a ponzi scheme that they get to benefit from. There are better investments in the world than a downward trending digital only fiat currency.

As one newbie here has mentioned there is value to blogging from a personal experience point of view. I agree. That's why I'm still here despite this being a flawed economic system. When the price reaches $0.01 or less I may actually consider investing for the long run, but it's hard for me to think that I should put in $1 now knowing it's likely to be $0.50 tomorrow. I'm basically just handing a whale/oligarch my $0.50 and not really getting any value for the foreseeable future.

Best scene in the movie, by far, IMO. So damn funny!

"I'm done...it's over...time to hit McDonalds..."

Fits perfectly.

Noooooooooooo! Don't give up , Bill Murray, this is just beginning....I swear...

Yeah, when I first joined I was making decent value for my posts. The last three weeks have been increasingly frustrating, getting many up-votes but no value. When you bring up the need to decentralize to the "whales" on here, it just gets ignored. I saw a "test post" yesterday that made more money than almost anyone does on here a whole 1.97 or whatever, and all it said was "testpostignore". 64 up-votes for nothing! Either the curators of this site need to learn comprehension, or the current distribution is rewarding and will continue to reward just a few people. This steemit platform needs a major overhaul of decentralization.

Also, I am not sure why it is just to reward anyone who goes to "steemfest" with 1000 SP. Great you get to go to their little party in Amsterdam, but what about if you have actual responsibilities like running a business and being a father? I can't just drop my shit and head to Amsterdam even if I had the money. However if I lived in Europe I could probably easily make it. So they are basically giving anyone who lives in Europe a free 1000 steem for attending a party, while I blog away and bring thousands of views to this site but get nothing. 3 months of work for less SP than some newbie gets for going to a party? Seems fair. Don't reward YouTubers with hundreds of thousands of views, just throw 1000 SP to some random people who show up for your party. I am not going to keep promoting this site if something doesn't change.

I agree, the rewards have greatly reduced. I can see that they are trying different things like adding savings accounts and things like that. I'm still writing every day and still have hope... But, I do feel like usage has gone down a little. I don't think as many people are writing anymore, which is a scary thought. I totally understand wanting to cash out, but I think it did cause a little bit of a collapse in the price of Steem. That chat seems like a ghost town compared to the good ol' days. I figure I'll just keeping writing and collecting whatever Steem power I get. Will this be the next Bitcoin... probably not, but we don't know the future holds, I guess we'll find out over the next few months. I am curious what an economic collapse would do the price?

great memes but for me its more about the steemit community that is amazing rather than the money. The money is just like a bonus for me and its also teaching my about cryptocurrencies in general.

bro this is fucked up, look at this shit.
https://steemit.com/steem-meme/@craig-grant/steem-is-collapsing
he jacked your meme's, put a link in the post as his source and is making more money off your meme's then you are when you created them.
:/

Haha lol very very good up voted and followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59