Ninjas, Kung-Fu, Haejin And Why You Should Remove Your Delegation From @Dcommerce

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians. It's my hope that you are all doing well and living your lives the the max. I know I'm trying my best to do just that. I also know that there is at least one Steemian who isn't. Instead, he spends his days burning in self-inflicted, egoistical hate. More on that later.

When I was a kid, like many of you, I loved martial arts. I grew up on Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan movies, and of course I loved Karate Kid.

[This post has the potential of becoming the most flagged post ever on Steem. @Steemauto, how is that "don't vote if declined" feature coming along?]

scot.jpg

Yours truly doing the famous one legged pose that proceeds the "crane kick". For me, it was the ultimate "finish him" move, so I thought it was apt to do it on one of the highest points in the UK - on the Highlands of Scotland


It's no surprise then, given the above, that I became enamoured with Chinese, Japanese, Thai and Korean martial art related culture when I was younger. My best friend in high school was a Korean kid we called "Hoonski". That wasn't his real name, but he asked us to call him that because nobody could pronounce his real name.

Hoonski was cool as heck. We were both the tallest boys in school at some point, so we both played on the Basketball team. He was half an inch taller than me at the time. What was cooler about him, though, was the fact that his dad thought combat to the military. He also ran a Taekwondo school, which I went for free for a few months before moving to Wing Chun - which I much preferred. His dad was quite disappointed at the time, I remember. He used to tell me that I was "talented" and my long, strong legs where made for Taekwondo.

Listening to Hoonski and his dad speaking Korean was fascinating for me back then. I really wished I could speak what is apparently one of the most difficult languages in the world.

In University, one of my closest friends was a Hattori. I don't know if it's true, but she always said she was related to that Hatorri.. As it also happened, her dad had quite the collection of (unsharpened) Katanas.

I learnt a bit of Japanese because of her, and got a little immersed in that culture for a while. I also dabbled in a little Jujitsu, which she was quite good at. I can't remember what belt she had, but I was an absolute beginner and kept at it for a while.

One of my mates back in the day, to my deep envy, became the world Karate champion! World Champion! . The cool thing about him is that even though he was more than a decade older than us, he looked the same age as us, so he used to hang with my crew. He was a "mature student" I guess :). He's also from Hackney, London.

I just couldn't believe it back then that some black dude from east London could be the "world's greatest karate competitive fighter". If you don't believe it either, search the Guinness Book of World Records for "Wayne Otto". He's in there for having won the most number of Karate medals ever. Crazy eh?

Another thing about Wanye that we thought was cool, was how "Japanese" his surname sounded. We were sure he changed his name at some point.

"Wayne Otto, Karate World Champion": I'm expecting to see a Japanese guy. haha. It's amazing how stereotypes work.

So basically, back then I used to wish I had ninja samurai sword skills, could do Taekwondo combo kicks, could do the super-fast karate sweeps like Wayne, and speak Korean. But instead, all I knew was a bit of Wing Chun movements, a bit of Jujitsu and and a few words in Japanese.

Fast forward to today, I no longer have those youthful fantasies :) . I do, however, still wish I could speak Korean! I love languages and speak quite a few, but I want to speak more. I wish I had more time to learn. As it is, I'm trying to perfect my Czech - which is a very difficult language. The next one will be Swahili because, why not. Then, maybe Korean.

[End of epic digression]


Steem KR

Unless you've been living under a rock, you would have noticed that there is a thriving and very strong Korean community on Steem. I'm starting to think Korean, not Spanish, might be the second language of Steem after English.

I've often mused to myself that when I do eventually get round to learning Korean, I could start a blog here in Korean to practice.

I've also noticed that there are quite a few dolphins and ocras that create content regularly on Steem from the Korean community. It first came to my notice when I started following @ramengirl's posts. The community is quite strong in the food and lifestyle genres from what I can see (from photos).

I find it quite frustrating that I can't read nor understand anything they're saying. I think the Koreans have been quite influential of late in helping to sustain the price of Steem, judging by all the activity in Korean exchanges over the months.

Of course, there may be something else sinister going on that I'm too naive to see, but I always give the benefit of a doubt, being a glass is half full type of guy :)

Sadly, there is one Korean who leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouth. I can see that he generally focuses his positive curation efforts on posts from the Korean community, while keeping his negative curation in the English speaking, or more accurately, "non-Korean" communities.

This kind of regional schism isn't good for Steem. I can see that some European and American high stake holders auto-vote Korean posts. I say "auto-vote", because I don't imagine many of them understand Korean. I can only speculate that they do it to benefit from curation rewards from a thriving Steem community. While there's nothing wrong with that per se, it does mean they have no idea what they're curating. Yes, of course, you can use Google Translate, but I can't imagine they're doing that before upvoting - especially since some of them hit the posts within 5 minutes of them going up.

This is one of my frustrations with not understanding Korean. I would like to support some of the better content creators in that community, and other communities, but it's just not viable. The more regions of the world adopt Steem, the better for us all.

This is why we must avoid regional divisions.

@haejin / @ranchorelaxo's behaviour is creating a bit of a regional beef, in my opinion.

In order to counter some of his trolling, large stake holders are not only having to upvote some of the people he's constantly attacking, but also downvote some of his random upvotes - many of which are in the Korean community. The problem with that, of course, is that some of them are going to get unfairly downvoted - especially since we can't usually tell what the content is. I have noticed that some effort is being put into avoiding downvoting apparently good effort content upvoted by haejin, but there will always be some collateral damage.

rancho.png

I'm jealous @tufkat and @transisto, I used to be his number 1

haejin.png

This will no doubt lead to animosity from those that feel they've been unfairly targeted. In fact, that is already the case, as I've started seen some Korean retaliatory flags flying all over the place.


@dcommerce is back baby! not.

"Monetize your shopping" - it sounded like a great idea at the time, drawing delegations well above the 1 million Steem mark. It all ended up being a big fat sham, with most people pulling their delegations.

What was supposed to help bring Steem to the mainstream from the ecommerce perspective, ended up to be nothing more than a big circlejerking delegation for upvotes platform, with the shammer in chief himself, running laughing all the way to the bank.

So why is it back?

Well, ever since the likes of @blocktrades, and @pharesim stepped up big time and started auto-countering Haejin and Ranchorelaxo's malicious downvotes, including some manual efforts by @ocdb, @trafalgar and @curangel, he's slowly withered away into deeper insignificance - even more pathetic than ever before.

Now, with someone of his kind of ego, there is nothing that burns more than insignificance and irrelevance since his negative influence was effectively zeroed out.

In a new act of desperation, he's revived the @dcommerce account, which apparently still has a lot of delegators (including some orcas and dolphins that create content regularly in Korean). He has now added that voting power that was delegated (I assume in good will), to attack people again.

I am proud to say that I was the first he flagged

I am saddened, however, to see that he flagged the wonderful @josediccus, most probably because he attacks my resteems as well indiscriminately. This is the amazing post he attacked.

What a sad, pathetic loser you are @haejin.

To the delegators to @dcommerce

This is what your delegated SP is now being used to do - fight the old man's childish war. Is that what you signed up for? Don't be surprised when you start getting flagged out of nowhere by people Haejin attacks on your unwitting behalf.

I will never retaliate against any of you, of course, but not everyone is me ;) #justSaying.

If you don't want to be part of this, I strongly suggest you remove your delegation from @dcommerce. . If you're complacent, then you're supportive of his ways. It's your Steem. It's up to you.


I am tagging some of the delegators of @dcommerce here. Some of them are no doubt just Haejin's alt accounts, judging by the circle jerk activities. I am sure that some of you are unwittingly being roped into something you didn't sign up for.

Full list here

@cancerdoctor @forecasteem @sunghaw @kiwifi @isaaclab @ksc @y-o-u-t-h-m-e
@centering @bramd @fur2002ks @ukk @jsj1215 @mspower @kgbinternational
@ayogom @machellin @skuld2000 @smon-joa @leemikyung @yoon @girina79
@yangpankil27 @sonsory @raah @sunnyy @eversloth @tomhall @simmani @argon
@parkname @jaytop @sunrang3 @hefziba @designkoi @gungunkrishu @shellyduncan
@sadmt @kevindeby @junny @mastertri @asinayo @aafeng @statsexpert @promisteem
@realsunny @forykw @newiz @futurecurrency



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Ah, I see that the @dcommerce account started flagging about 14 hours ago.

Here's some music to cheer you up:

That's my tune bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24