Accounts

in #steem5 years ago

If I recall correctly, if not feel free to correct me in the comments, since RC was created we will be able to create 9 million accounts this year that are claimed for free through RC.

Now, in a way this can mean that we have 9 million accounts we can create in one year for free, the best part is that we can save these accounts for when demand spikes up. Now I'm not so technical but considering 80 mil are liquid and the rest are powered up that could also mean that you could technically only create 2.666 Million accounts at the cost of 3 Steem per account.

There are tons of accounts being created daily, if I remember that correctly it's close to 1k accounts per day according to @penguinpablo's stats.

Something people may not be preparing for is that the demand may soon pick up and we'll find ourselves with no accounts to give out cheaply. Of course we got our people closest to us covered and can claim and create 1 account per day with ~3k SP, but for many wanting in and not knowing anyone it will have to come at a cost or activity. I'm not surprised if dapps start soon offering temporary accounts and once you've earned enough to claim an account they can simple transfer over the data and rest of upcoming rewards onto your real account.

What I'm saying is that scarcity is good, it will make people consider giving out free accounts more than they may do now. Not saying that's a good thing but eventually it will happen, eventually maybe people will start paying you Steem to create accounts as long as its less than the current 3 Steem price.

We still have some time to go for those things to become common, but until then remember to use your free accounts as well as you can. You want people who will give Steem a try not for the monetary aspect of it but for the experiment and what you can do with it, I'm sure you the more used Steemian can already see the advantages compared to the current centralized regime. It's always better to be careful and safe than to think back in regret, same thing goes for investing into altcoins in bear markets. ;) but don't actually take that as investment advice. (I don't know why exactly traders always keep saying this but I feel like I should use it as well in this day and age)

I'm planning on onboarding some users from one of my favorite platforms and helping them with account creation and a bonus delegation depending on their past activity there. Right now though I'd rather save them up as creating an account with the account recovery in tact through Steemit is a more secure bet.

I'm looking forward to seeing people hold events and meetings with strangers, post about it and invite a ton of them easily with links to emails that instantly get them an account created, and a lot more word of mouth. Think about it though, in a way it's a fight for as many accounts to people from certain places, if you think Steem has a good shot at making it big, why are you not onboarding people from your location? :) Imagine you could curate everyone's intro post and maybe even get to know them better at the same time! Wouldn't you want to share this platform with as many of the people close to you as possible?

Have you been creating accounts for people lately? How has that gone?

Sort:  

You know what? I haven’t. Maybe I should but I have been leading the horses to water, and letting them figure out how to drink.

I am free with the guidance, support and even delegation if they are active.

I definitely would love to share this platform with as many as possible and try not to bitch about the existing on boarding hurdles.

If folks are motivated and willing to blaze their own trail, I am there for them at this point. If we are to welcome an early majority, there will have to be a beginners element to one of the existing dapps or a new one tailored for the new folks.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I actually have created an account for someone who's almost completely opposite me in philosophy. After many discussions IRL, I became interested in how they would interact and post on Steem. So far they haven't done much. I don't follow them here, or stalk their posts, I just ask them in person how they are getting along.

Just to avoid triggering them, I blocked me when I handed over the account =p Mercy is a blessing.

I claim an account every two days and have been accumulating them for the eventuality! I often think about a strategy that has been doing my final post on Facebook before deleting by inviting my network to Stemm in my tokens!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can do one account every 5 days and have been doing it for the past few weeks. I've offered a few to friends I know are interested in tech and crypto and have brought a few in.

Next I'll be building them up for the day when I have people asking me how to join. The day when we build something that people are looking to join and know that I have the experience here to help them. I've told enough people about what we have here so hopefully the idea stuck.

Posted using Partiko Android

I just wanted to thank you for your generous upvote support on my roadmap to 5K Steem the other day. Sincerely appreciated.

Back in the bull market I think I got 6 people to join the platform. I had a large dolphins support at the time and tried helping them get started, but they still didn't stick around as they never got much as far as rewards outside of me.

I'll have better luck as more and more games come to the platform. When there's a good game that comes to steem that's good because it's a good game and not just a good blockchain game I think I'll get them back.

SteemMonsters is such a game, but I don't have the money to sponsor all of them to buy and bunch of cards and don't think they accumulated Steem to get started. One day I'm sure I will get them back though.

The method to create free accounts is good, because people can get their friends on a lot easier, if they got enough SP. Or ask a friend that has enough SP to make an account for them. But there have been a lot of accounts just mining a ton of coins this entire time. I'm not really sure what they're gonna do with all those.

I'm a little disappointed that more services haven't popped up yet to onboard people.

I've created a few accounts to people who have seemed reasonable and had trouble getting an account or lost their previous account. I just haven't been following up the users and some had quit after following a few accounts and without a single post or comment.

I've paid for the creation in Steem as I don't have enough RC. Still glad I've created these accounts though, as some had been quite active for a while and if even one is still active, it's worth it.

This is very, very interesting and I didn't know about it.

So I can pretty much get free STEEM accounts every few days if I have enough RC? Are those like from anonsteem so I can finally stop paying for them?

I see that people use steeminvite and steemworld to claim those tickets, are there any more options where you can do it?

Thanks!

Not sure about more options, there may exist more.

I was too skeptical about steemworld.

It's the best site ever.

Better be safe than sorry. :P

Do you know that if you have 1500 sp you can create 1 account every 2 days? or do you need a minimum of 3k to start claiming account creation accounts? I would love to stockpile a few to give to friends and family eventually!

You can check the RC requirements for account creation at https://beempy.com/resource_costs (thanks to @holger80 for the work).

Currently, claiming and account takes ~9950Giga RC... I have a project account w/ ~3700 SP, and it yields ~7500Giga RC, so not quite enough to consistently claim accounts, but the cost has dropped below 7400 from time to time.


To answer your question, you must pay the RC cost all at once, and can't split it up over multiple days.

Cheers.

Thanks for the info :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64