Your content is alright but your titles suck

in #steem6 years ago

Some prizes, a short summary of events, and a bit bullshit talk following that poorly titled post the other day.



Taken by me, near the sea en Valencia


Remember this post? https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/convince-me-why-your-top-5-voted-for-are-who-they-are-and-win-stuff

All you needed was a pie chart and a few lines of text and some SBI shares were likely heading your way. It was interesting to see that of the pies presented, no-one was self-voting more than .6% over 14 days. Were others afraid to share their pies? Now you making me feel bad :P

You gotta take care of yourself before you can take care of others - @eveuncovered

I agree. Even if it doesn't show in my voting patterns.


@newageinv and @galenkp have both written posts recently relating to review of voting behavior, and could be trying a new approach. Good luck :)


Thank you @meesterboom for sending out a load of SBI's to many of the commentators on the post!


PoS / Self-vote / Entitlement

If you agree with

You are entitled each day to your own vote multiplied by 10

And you were earning far less than that each day, would you self-vote more? I'm pretty sure I would.


Post padding random advice

There are many in the same boat regarding the where to place votes conundrum, along with how much weight to apply to a comment (as usually they have only 1 vote) to give it value on payout day. Most accounts cannot give a non-dust vote (1 million + accounts) - sad times at present. I'm not sure what I would do in your situation, maybe try to up-vote the best 2/3 with a 3 cent vote (2.5 is I think above dust)? I try to reward all my commentators with 3 cents, but that's a 10% vote at present and can be a drain on my VP.

The way things are now, with less and less SP being freely distributed to 'normal' blogs (e.g. not utopian, not dtube), I can certainly see why stakeholders choose to self vote. I think your brothers vote is sometimes the highest vote on his own posts, and well, if that's the case it seems overly selfless not to prove your stake with a self-vote.

For lower SP users, the 2/3 cents you can issue to self are a bit different in my mind. Yes they will add up over time, but I think a well placed vote, perhaps on a high-staked users comment along with a decent reply, could have more of a impact - If they were interested in the text, visited your work and stuck a $1 vote down, I would call that a much better result than the self-vote.

from here


39 SBI shares

going out to the following who provided a chart or discussion of their top 5 voted for.

@brittandjosie, @eveuncovered, @katrina-ariel, @erikaflynn, @aussieninja, @bashadow, @deirdyweirdy, @crokkon, @viking-ventures, @tryskele, @melinda010100, @snook, and @mariannewest.

Thanks for playing!


Have a nice day all

Asher

Sort:  

I missed that post of yours. I honestly believe your vote is worth more than the value it holds and should be used accordingly. I see it as an opportunity to comment and vote on a post earning curation plus the possibility of being voted back through the comment. The vote received back could be way more than what the value of your vote is. Not only that you may receive a follow as well. Just common sense not to waste on self voting especially when you are small.

Great point especially the last one. Even if ut's common sense i didnt think of it that way!

I agree you don't. This is just looking a little deeper at the numbers and have never put the two together. These figures are if the whales sell as well and if they don't there is way less to go around which would create the value in Steem. Steem will become very rare and much sought after in the future.

My thoughts exactly :)

Wow! Thanks! That is very generous of you! I don't do self votes and you have made me realize that I could be doing more comment votes (I surely love receiving them!) and I need to make all my upvotes a bit larger.

My pleasure :)

Yes I think it's good to curate your own blog - visitors are scarce at present and if they spend the time to comment then I think a reward is fitting.

Now if only we all had votes that were worth more!

Lets see where we are at the end of the year :)

Sheez! and I wasn't aware of this contest in time to earn a shitload of SBI shares. ¡Wadda bummer!

lol

That guy muted me years ago, I quickly returned the favor :D

Hahahaha yeah! I was muted by him years ago too.

¡Holy crap! Serial mutters hoards easier all the fun. };)

He'll be back when we are Whales 😬

High-5 muted team!

Yep! and when he'll be back, he might find out that he won't understand shit about the new jargon, buzzwords or secret passkey to enjoy fully the Steem Blockchain. };)

CryptoAnswers.jpg

My titles are alright but my content sucks.

I keep my votes above the dust on comments received. Its hard but I feel that people who comment on my posts should be recognized.
Self votes I have no opinion eighter way. People have to grow there accounts to the best of their abilities. At least they are not plagiarism or other underhanded things. How many people have additional accounts upvoting themselfs so others would not know. At least the self voters don’t hide or sneaky about it

ha :D

Essential to reward your commentators in my opinion - not as if they are visiting for the content now is it!?

I include alt accounts when I talk about self-votes. There is an element of sneaky, but most people have an alt these days, for short-form / shit-posts. It's the ones that have 5/6 'secret' accounts to slap stake on that don't look great to me.

Some times they correct my post and give me a grade. What the hell.
I am so behind the times. No alt account here.

Hahaha #metoo

:D

Well I have a few, but i don't use them to secretly spank my stake over.

We are talking about accounts that have the purpose to deceive.
There are some great reasons to have an alt accounts. They are used to benefit the community and people. And so do the owners of those accounts

OK now give me 20K drugs, 10K each guns and alcohol or face WAR
Hahahaha

!bookkeeping drugwars

Hi @wolfhart!

drugwars

Received:

  • 27.206 STEEM from daily
  • 6.008 STEEM from heist
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 24.040 STEEM

Total:

  • 9.174 STEEM

First transfer was before 11.55 days.
Your ROI per day is 11.96 % and you are earning approx. 2.87 STEEM per day.

Yes we are. I am not a fan and try not to support those ventures.

I don't have that many supplies at present but can send 400 Knifers round if you wish :D

I daren't look, but I can't resist... !bookkeeping drugwars

LOL
I think I have 2 knifes. I am Sucking on security
My ROI is very good, so I can’t complain

I would rather have it that way around to be honest. I think the top 10 players have an army x10 the size of mine and it's going to be carnage when battles start again.

If that's the way it goes (anyone can attack anyone and as many times as they want), the best route might be just to heist everything and grind the slow road to break-even. And they are advertising this as a game?!

Dang it! I missed entering the contest and, you'll be proud of me for this Aher, i did do the pie chart! My top 5 in order were @davedickyyall, @phoneixwren, @taskmaster4450, and @yagoub .... well that's only 4 and i can't recall the other right now so it will have to do! I always appreciate your efforts to boost engagement. And, yes eventhough your voting doesn't reflect it you do need to take care of yourself. Maybe a certain amount of self-voting is actuslly healthy??!! Eventhough i teach self-care, there is SO MUCH to learn about. And, acting on it is another big part of it!! Be blessed friend 🌄

Don't worry Jill, I'm sure there will be more contests :)

Well maybe I will sneak a self-vote in each week, perhaps on the EL post! Self-care is an interesting topic, and I suspect many people can 'talk a good game' but when it comes down to acting on their own advice, they fall short.

Thank you for the kind comment as always!

You're welcome, mucho gusto! You are one of those wise guys, i can tell 💆‍♂️ 😊 💙

Hugs! And, congratulations on your new job! Saw that in a comment somewhere.

I'm just talking a good game :D

Thank you very much, flying over to my new(old) city in one week!

Bye-bye Malorca! Hello Valencia! LOL both sound equally romantic 🌸

There is a Cala (like a cove) near here called Cala Romantica, it is rather lovely and fitting of its name.

Valencia can be romantic too I guess - perhaps when I'm settled with everything I might start to 'look around' :D

🌸💗🌸 sounds nice! Enjoy every moment!! 🙏

Goodmorning from the Alps, Thanks for the SBI share and Reading All the other entries There were some interesting accounts that I didnt know off, so I am following them now. I do think that hand picked voting is better than auto voting but than again much easier. Was Fun now waiting on the girls-boys pie 😉

I have always been encouraged and inspired by the auto-votes i get! They help me post more and be so grateful knowing i will get a payout! But, yes those manual votes are greatly appreciated too! I was really grateful for the recent @blockbrothers vote on my post. That was awesome 💙 I hope you enjoy your time in the mountains!! 🌄

Voting , I seem to always have to little time 😬 and the mountains are great

Oh girl! The mountains are so great! I live two hours drive to Banff which is the Rocky Mountain's. Would love to visit the Alp's sometime. I have Swedish and German ansecstory in my lineage and I work with mountains in my Spiritual practices. I can feel and engage a little with the Alps through my relationship with the mountain's here. I hope your travels are smooth and safe. And, that the winter weather conditions are not too harsh! Breathe in the mountain air & energy. It's so soul nourishing and the time together with loved ones makes for the best memories 🌄💗💆‍♂️

The energy and serenity is huge here, this afternoon i went walking and the air is so clean and the scenery oh my what a treat,
I feel blessed

Voting is always a thing i always have to little time 😬 and the mountains are so great

Enjoy the Alps! I'm going in the opposite direction to the sea :)

Girls/Boys pie, someone else can do - I have enough!

Both sunny ... have a great time

Your content is alright but your titles suck

That could be a good thing, but slightly reversed -

  • Your title is great, but what about the content

My own title that I like the most -
Titanic Tuesday Trilogy a not so great post just three off the wall pictures, but it got a great pay out, (well great for me, maybe not a lot of others)

Thanks for the SBI, have a good week, I hope you get some news this week job wise, I guess the hunt still goes on.

That is a good title :D I should come to you for advice next time.

I have a job, and again I think the title let me down.

Back to Valencia, 'Orca 2020' the post title. Thanks for remembering I was looking though :)

I had to go back 3 months to find the title, so I don't hit on a good one too often. Congrats on the job, should be a fun place to be.

I think I'd be happy with a decent one every quarter :)

Thanks, it's a great city for sure and hopefully the work won't be so bad either.

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.873 which ranks you at #102 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks, Asher!
Indeed, very low self-voting rates! Is it because your curation league members all know that each self-vote will appear in the weekly tables - wall of {f|sh}ame? :D
Oh, I should really revisit this self-vote/low-diversity analysis topic...

Low self-voting rates, high alt rates :D

It could be the wall of shame, but not many of the top 10/20 presented there lovely pies in the post. Maybe they have me on mute until Sunday arrives.

Yes you should revisit that analysis with the low-diversity, see if things have improved or not :)

Oops. Don't think I hadn't noticed the easy offering either.

You're still super awesome, blockchain savvy, and generous! Keep it up. That's why I check in now and later.

It would have cost me a fortune if more had seen it so it's not all bad, for me :)

Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49