Steem-Pocalypse Poem Day 1--Round 1

in #steem-pocalypse7 years ago (edited)

Fannie’s Flowers

Holed up in the apartment, it was easy to pretend
I had a few books and I read them over and over and over
Over
Over
Over
No--too easy to go down that rabbit hole
Lewis Carroll lived and wrote once and now he’s dead
I’m alive and that means I can still create, can still be

Be present, be focused, be brave
Maybe I should have opened the door and said,
“Welcome, stranger, enter and be a friend!
Have you read 50 Shades of Grey? Drivel, quite right
you are, ha ha! But entertaining, nonetheless.”
But I don’t talk like that
and people today don’t talk
at all

I wonder if my vocal chords still work
Too dangerous to test
in this burned out “Fannie’s Flowers”
I hope you made it out, Fannie,
mostly for selfish reasons
I don’t want to see another corpse
Another reminder that I might be alive today
but dead today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42