The 'Pocalypse Poetry Challenge DAY 1 ROUND 2 (25 SBD so far in Prizes to be Won)

in #pocalypse-poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hello, welcome to the second round of Pocalypse-Poetry! This competition is for steemians to write poems related to or about Steem-Pocalypse! Today's Steem-Pocalypse can be found here https://steemit.com/steem-pocalypse/@papa-pepper/steem-pocalypse-survival-game-contest-season-6-day-1-round-2-100-sbd-prize-pool-so-far

The prizes for this competition are:
--Daily Winners: Every day the three judges will pick their favorite poem from that day and all three will resteem it.

--Grand Prize: The person that writes a poem for every day of STEEM-POCALYPSE will receive a $15 SBD prize. In the event that multiple people accomplish this, the three judges will go over their poems and decide upon one winner. We would like to thank @em3 for donating an extra $5 to the pot for this!

--Grand Prize: At the end of the contest the three judges will go over all the submitted poems and decide upon their overall favorite poem. That poem will be awarded a $10 SBD prize.

(1) Write a poem based on/or inspired by this game post by @papa-pepper: https://steemit.com/steem-pocalypse/@papa-pepper/steem-pocalypse-survival-game-contest-season-6-day-1-round-2-100-sbd-prize-pool-so-far

Poems must be between 8-50 lines.

(2) Make a post with your poem and post the link in the comments for the 'Pocalypse Poetry Challenge and Contest post for that day. (If you don't wish to make your own post, you may post your poem in the comments instead.)

(3) Upvote and Resteem the contest posts you post your entries on.

(4) On this post, poems will only be accepted for Day 1 Round 2 of STEEM-POCALYPSE.

Once Day 2 Round 1 of STEEM-POCALYPSE has been posted, there will be a new post Pocalypse-Poetry post by @novaatebatman

Important notes
--You do not have to participate in STEEM-POCALYPSE to enter a poem into the competition.

-- You may join in the contest at any point, however, if you have missed previous days, you aren't eligible for the prize for writing a poem for each day. You will still qualify for the overall favorite poem prize and the daily favorite resteems.

--If we don't manage to post straight after @papa-pepper's STEEM-POCALYPSE due to being out, or asleep - rest assured there will be a post and get your poems for that day ready for us.THERE WILL BE A POST by @hopehuggs, @novaatebateman or @superbuckles.

--The very last poem must include the winner(s) of STEEM-POCALYPSE.

Sorry about this post being a little late, I have been busy with preparing for school. Good luck to everyone, and I hope you all have an amazing, poetry filled day!

Photo courtesy of: http://supernatural.wikia.com/wiki/The_Apocalypse

Sort:  

Winging a freestyle for fun.

So many options, should I grab a gun?
I only signed up because I heard that it was fun.
It's only day one so the game has just begun.
Already I'm being given the option to run.

Should I grab one, grab 3, or try to take the truck?
Will anything but running be pressing my luck?
With guns all around perhaps I should duck.
But I got some gasoline cuz on the hose did I suck...


End poem.

Nice little freestyle @papa-pepper!

I survived to the night
will I be safe to the light?
There's a light in the gloom
will it bring me doom?
A truck in the street
I walk with my feet
The door is open
I hope I don't get roped in
there are weapons in there
but I don't care
I run with my life
with my trusty old knife.

@ironshield

Here is the link to me poem for the challenge:

https://steemit.com/steem-pocalypse/@deemarshall/the-pocalypse-poetry-challenge-day-1-round-2-my-poem

Thank you for organising this challenge. You have some great entries.

Yes its very hard picking the best one each day! But keep it up we love it.

No flowers, or balloons, or friendly staff.

As I step out of hiding and seek my path.

The darkness will hide me, and conceal my form.
My head is dry, and my body warm.

But don't start assuming that I'm counting chicks.

'Cause all the eggs are cracked, and I need a fix.

This town's too crazy. I gotta get out soon.
Before shooting starts, like it's Outlaw noon.

Ahead in the shadows sits a glowing truck.
Do I even go near and stretch my luck?

Nah, too risky. It's likely a ruse.

So on, and ahead, is the risk I choose!

I'll try to get one up soon. I have ~4 hours right?

You're in time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13