Sort:  

HF19 was a major improvement . Prior to linear rewards a whale vest was more valuable than a non-whale vest since voting power increased in value the more it was pooled together.

There is good content, but the problem is it is burred in spam. We incentize spam by making people vote at least 50 times per week to maximize their voting power.

Why do you think that removing that incentive is not going to help good content rise to the top exactly?

Today I got onto a project that required me to find 3 posts out of my feed with these parameters

  • 30-40 Reputation
  • 2-3 days old
  • less that $0.50 in rewards
  • good media for social media promo - good thumbnail and 2+ other media
  • attractive formatting
  • interesting and unique content

I went through my feed and found about 15 to check out based on the title alone. I only had to look at 6 posts to find the 3 I needed. The other 3 were still good but lacked enough media or proper formatting.

I get the point of this post, but for a minnow like me - the lack of support for the little guys is the biggest hurdle. None of these little people in my feed were posting anything spammy at all. I saw good content by little fishes that is being ignored. This is why I have yet to invite my content creating friends.

I love this place and will keep trying as I see the potential. Many people will not due to all the hard work for little return. If people can put all their vote into one place - I think this problem would be even worse.

I recently studied this post (with good graphics!) about the voting patterns of the big guys. In general - they do enough self-voting and voting for a small circle of friends. Please do not make it any easier for them.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/self-upvoting-by-the-top-100-authors-on-steem

for me i see less than 1 post in 100 that is a worthwhile read. so i guess that is a matter of perspective.

because we can build steem dapps it is ultimately impossible to stop people from tradding their votes. all an artifical restriction does is make it unfair and unattractive for people who dont want to go out of their way to do what they want with thier own sp

Dang! I always have too many good posts to even get through in a day. What topics do you care about? Maybe mine just get more good posts.

I saw a couple of sad ones this weekend. 20 minutes old - $200+ - all big whale votes. I decided to just not worry about it and focus on people who do share the love. Sort of surprising who does not.

Jerry Banfiield has a recent post that shows you how to check where people place their votes. Some of the whales are not worth your time to even read their posts. Others are upvoting all the good comments they get. Therefore - I will not waste my time on certain whale posts and will focus on commenting on the others when I have an interest in the topic and something to say. I'm checking these charts now as I go and making notes!

A few changed their behavior after he posted so I feel hopeful.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/self-upvoting-by-the-top-100-authors-on-steem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65