I need help :( My SteemIt password was deleted

in #steem-help8 years ago

PLEASE HELP ME @ned @dan
I just signed up a couple days ago and am super excited to get lots of my stories out to the World! I already have 2 :) BUT - STUPID ME!!!! I saved my password to my Roboform (password manager)....but I must not have.....because it's not there :( :(

I did read ALLLLLL the warnings:

The first rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
The second rule of Steemit is: Do not lose your password.
The third rule of Steemit is: We cannot recover your password.
The fourth rule: If you can remember the password, it's not secure.
The fifth rule: Use only randomly-generated passwords.
The sixth rule: Do not tell anyone your password.
The seventh rule: Always back up your password.

So I even thought to myself 'Don't be an idiot, Tenille! Save your password!' And sure enough (just my luck of course!) it's gone :(

I love my username, I love my 2 stories that I already have posted - and they are basically intro's to my next stories - it's one big story!!!

Is there ANY way at all that you guys can help me?? Oh please!!! I would be FOREVER grateful :)

Sincerely, the girl who's learned her lesson (I promise!!)

Tenille

Sort:  

Want your oil changed and a spare put on too, honey? No trouble at all, we do it all just for you.

Oooohhh someone is jelly beans of women making money on Steem

It's all my fault, I'm So Sowwwieeee! Mwah mwah mwah. Plz like me!

Real men never apologize right?

If you want women to like you, then nigga, you need to act like a man.

Not like a little yuppity lickspittle lapdog bitch.

That's my priceless free advice, from the father you never had. But you go ahead, you do "you", life always sorts itself out.

Not from you I don't.....what a rude and arrogant comment!!! Thanks for being completely useless!

Oho!

It's, like, SO annoying and RUDE, how the laws of physics and crypto can't be bent for a blonde in distress!! Like seriously!

Seriously, let it go you racist, sexist nothing. Go get yourself another turkey drumstick.

Its my fault, I'm sorry :(

same thing happend to me yesterday theirs no other way, i just made a new account

I can't help now, but save it in multiple locations for the future. I have mine in a password manager, on 3 usb sticks as files, and I've made three paper copies that are stored in three separate locations. One is my quick access file with 1 usb, one paper copy as well as the master password for my manager, one location is in a safe with the same three, and the third are out of my house a long ways away so if my town ever burns down (fort mac reference, I'm from Alberta) I can head out to the country and grab my third spare set.

That's just what I do and I wish you the best of luck, I hope ned or dan can help you.

Did you happen to copy it with a clipboard manager? I didn't, decided to just write it down and then retype it from what I wrote to make sure I had written it down properly. Afaik password retrieval is impossible here. I would also assume that in order to change your password you have to enter the old one, so I wish you luck, but it may be "let it go" and "do-over" time.

Actually it looks like if you are logged in and just hit change password, it fills the old password in and lets you generate a new one. Not all that secure but might be a huge help to you.

@tenille, I use roboform and for some reason it saved my steemit password to "bookmarks" instead of "logins". It also saved it as "--steemit", adding the pre-hyphen on it's own. Roboform has always saved passwords to the logins category in the past so it was unusual to see it save steemit to the bookmarks category. Maybe the beta status of steem's coding has caused robo to misread the category it needs to save to. Hopefully if you search for steem in the other robo folders, it'll turn up. good luck!

Congratulations @tenille! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tenille! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83