You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unwritten Rules of Steemit

in #steem-help7 years ago

Hello, and thanks for the update, would like to inquire something. I guess am not a day old in this platform, about voting for posts, I find myself loving all the trending posts, do I currently have a limit of how many votes I can make or how many times I can post in a day?

Sort:  

There are no hard limits to how much you vote or post HOWEVER there are optimal or soft limits.

For voting you have voting power which gets used at a rate of 2% (of what's left) for every 100% vote. As a minnow you can currently only vote at 100%, but as your power goes up to I think 500 SP you will get a slider allowing you to adjust what % you use. Your voting power recovers at a rate of 10% every 12 hours. This means that the optimal number of votes per day is 10. If you vote more than 10 times, you will find your voting power getting lower which is not something you should worry about as a minnow. It only becomes important when you are big enough to earn curation rewards, but otherwise, don't worry too much.

But knowing that bigger dolphins and whales do have these restrictions, we can now consider the limits for posting. Again, there are no limits, however, if you consider that each large user has 10 votes at 100% (or 20 votes at 50% or 40 votes at 25%) then you might consider how many times in one day any particular user would be willing to vote for you. Personally, I find that I get enough rewards if I only post once per day, however, I do sometimes post more than once, because I am not worrying too much about rewards - it is more important to gather followers and make connections.

So try not to worry about it, I personally don't vote for things that have already made a lot of money such as what is on the trending page. I can earn better curation rewards from seeking undiscovered content. I also believe this is the way to keep people interested so that everybody has the chance to win something.

And on followers, can I follow as many people as I can?

Yes, there are no restrictions to followers. There are no filters though so you might find that you miss posts if you follow too many or people who post or resteem too much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48