You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

My suggestion would be to READ before you WRITE.

Too many people seem to want to get posts out there to make money.. but they don't pay attention to what seems to be popular vs what isn't. I don't mean topics either. I mean writing styles... how people attract an audience (can be really about any topic).

For instance, if you spend a long time reading other blogs on here, you'll start realizing you'll say things to yourself like:

  • Hey I could have wrote that
  • I had a situation like that happen to me. Why didn't I think of writing about that?
  • OMG, that person got paid that much for that? Please.. I could totally write something a lot better quality than that...
  • Oh! What that person just said gave me an idea. I should write about XYZ instead

....by READING (and not just running around clicking upvotes)... but REALLY reading other people's content (both good + bad)... you can reverse engineer what the public generally awards, and what the public generally frowns upon.

Go search some $0.01 posts by someone with a Reputation Level 58.... go read their posts and their comments and see what they might be doing wrong that isn't getting them anywhere.

Many times it's just a low follower count. However many times poor writing styles, bad theme, and poor execution of the topic can cause problems. By us READING other people's blogs... we can learn and get inspired..

.. and one thing to keep in mind is exactly what @sykochica said...

Q: I wrote on the same topic as this other user...and their made 10 times as much as mine! Why?!?!

Really? Do I even need to answer this?
Maybe they were lucky? or first? or has had a longer standing relationship with people here? There is ALWAYS going to be others doing what you do..if not today...tomorrow, or the next day. DO NOT compare yourself to others...compare YOURSELF to YOURSELF!

...which sounds contradictory to what I said. (and I do agree with @sykochica's answer to that question very much).... But what I was trying to also suggest is that we can get inspired from READING before we WRITE.

Sort:  

That's a great point!!
Make this a post :)

Nope, I'm just going to re-steem yours -- you deserve it. If you're on Steemittalk maybe bring up my 11 cent post briefly as a topic -- some amazing comments I got there really shows how new users are feeling these days. I always listen to steemittalk podcast and I never get mentioned ever. :(

What I mean by this.. is I love it when the show hosts banter about things they find on steemit... I've never been lucky enough yet.

--

By the way, nice job on this post... you really do put out a lot of great content for people. That's why I think that people who follow me would love to read your stuff too. RE-STEEMED

I really appreciate that!
I think we can get your post on the show! I've got an in with the hosts. Lol

awesome response

Go search some $0.01 posts by someone with a Reputation Level 58.... go read their posts and their comments and see what they might be doing that isn't getting them anywhere.

🤔

That's so so so true !!!
I spend zillion of hours reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44