You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Down voting : A Motivational Killer or A Strategic Use of Power?

in #steem-help7 years ago

I think before people start accusing @dan and @ned of misusing some sort of perceived power or authority they should at the very least find out why such actions are being taken. I for one refuse to believe Ned and Dan took those actions out of any kind of malice or power crazed activity and so, therefore, feel there must be an underlying valid reason that I am not aware of.

Personally, I don't have an issue with sweetsssj being downvoted. I'm not sure what value she brings to Steemit other than her own benefit anyway. She's already huge on the Internet and looking at her stuff it was mostly a carbon copy of what she posted on her other sites which I hasten to add she was earning money from as well! Having read a lot of the so called sweetsssj defence posts it would seem the authors were more interested in the girl herself rather than any of her work. o_O

I don't know enough about cryptocurrencies or Steemit for that matter to be qualified to comment on @officialfuzzy from what I've seen of his work I have to say it does look like he tries to help others within the community however maybe there's something dodgy about beyondbits?

These are just my opinions .

Sort:  

@dickturpin
your remark...
Quote
Personally, I don't have an issue with sweetsssj being downvoted. I'm not sure what value she brings to Steemit other than her own benefit anyway.
Unquote
I think with all due respect you are wrong... @sweetsssj blog post on travel has brought a lot of people to steemit who google search those locations like Atlantis etc and finds detailed info through her blog and because of that register in steemit. More so, its very entertaining... Her work is always on point as such many steemian love to read, comment plus upvote her posts... So we need a good reason for such downvotes on such a great blogger because to our knowledge she is not breaking any rules and rather bringing value to steemit with her own great content. If she uses same blogs on other sites, it is her business as long as she owns it....I think she needs our support rather than discouraging the young lady.

Anyways, everyone to their own opinion...

Na, if you Google sweetsssj the first results are her Youtube channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGGw3NmaZLAZyzr8U-_UqVA which has been going far longer than Steemit (Joined 7 Oct 2012) I suspect these people you say she has brought were already following her on Youtube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. I seriously doubt anyone has joined Steemit because they found her on the web.

Nope, you're absolutely correct. She's breaking no rules whatsoever all the stuff she copies and regurgitates from Youtube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are her own content which she is perfectly entitled to post on Steemit. I just feel she's making enough money out of those other services without taking steem dollars from here which requires no work per-say on her part other than copy-n-paste from her other sites.

I look at her stuff from time to time but I don't follow her and I certainly don't give her any of my valuable votes, I'll give mine to those who are trying to build up their following on Steemit. :-)

P.S.
There's a whole raft of 'Travellers' on Steemit. :-)

well... no argument on this but as i pointed out earlier, everyone to their own opinion
to me am 1month plus in steemit and i see the vaue she creates...and how much she makes is entirely because steemians love her work...
i admire your resolve to target your upvotes to steemians who are struggling to come up like me...whose blog posts sometimes struggles to make it over 1$... but never discouraged...
i know in steemit there are lots of travelers and good ones at that...i fo enjoy their posts but this lady is awesome...and her narratives and attention to details is next to none.. but as i reiterated earlier...my own opinion...
which are do you blog?

I post about everything and anything. my main subject (At the minute) is https://steemit.com/trending/seriously

checking it out now
thanks
do check mine out too... will update

The problem here is that @ned and @dan will not give an explanation why they downvoted. As long as that persists their actions can be considered bullying.

Maybe they feel bullied by the demands?
Seriously, you'd have t be crazy to think that @ned and @dan see Steemit as some kind of fiefdom, and if people do think that then why are they not leaving in droves?

I think it's all a storm in a teacup that'll blow over in a few days and then, possibly, we'll find out the real issue.

Feeling bullied by legitimate request of the community? They should have thought about that before they started this great system ;-)

I hope you're right and it will blow over, but it does demonstrate a flaw in the system we need to address.

As far as people leaving, we may not see that yet, but if this trend continues I'm afraid we'll have a large group of users that no longer, or only marginally, contribute.

Let's wait and see, until than Steem-on.

There's a fair few I 'd like to see leave or at the very least change their behaviour. :-)

I'm not going to get upset about someone who goes on funded holidays by the places they visit to write reviews about their hosted location. And then re-posts that stuff on steemit but sticks the steemit logo on the pictures to give the pretence of exclusivity. I have no issue with sweetsssj personally what I disliked was the fact she brought over a lot of followers from her other sites and then started hoovering up votes that could have gone to less fortunate hard working minnows and from what little I saw rarely if ever rewarded comments thus spreading some of that good fortune around.

Again, that's just how I feel about the subject. Your view may well be different to mine. :-)

It is firstly not our problem. What did we do to think we have the right to demand an explanation? I am doing no such thing. I made my point along-side @dickturpin's point. That is that there has to be a bigger reason for this. None of these people are stupid enough to just mess around with all this power.

You do realize you are ranting-on about the very founders of this platform? They have the right to do whatever they want, quite frankly.

I absolutely love @sweetsssj for the value she brings to this platform. If anyone here knew even the slightest of how hard that young-lady works, you would disregard anything you have said about her. She deserves every bit of success she has made here.

Personally, I believe a person only has a say, once they have paid the price. Try taking 1000 pictures in a day, then trying to sort through all of them, then pick the best ones down to a single few photos, then edit each one.. And that's only like 20% of the whole process. Forget about content as a whole. Try replying, in-depth, to over 250+ comments per post! She doesn't make enough!

Anyways, I literally wrote enough on this thread already to make a full post lol.

Cheers, and let's all be friends :) Instead of worrying about other people's crap, just work on yourself and achieve your own dreams! Talk soon.

I think that Sweetsssj adds value here with her high quality posts and great for steemit...however very good point indeed, thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74