I Just Experienced a Bandwidth Error! What did I do wrong???

in #steem-help6 years ago (edited)
Just this morning, while commenting on a post I've seen on my feed, I have encountered a message telling me that my bandwidth has been exceeded. It was the first time I've seen an error like that. At first, I find hard time posting my comment. I tried 2 times sending that comment and an error message is what I always got. And on the third time, the bandwidth error popped up.

I remember the bandwidth percentage I've seen in the steemd tools and checked it there. It became light red with a text of "Recharging", too bad I didn't have the screenshot of that. Also it was stated below that I have to wait for 241hr 31m 10s.

After seeing that, I was thinking if it means that I got blocked on Steemit? That I need to wait for my bandwidth to fully recover? But before I panic too much, I tried to look for possible causes why I loose my bandwidth. I researched in Steemit and found answers. I found this posts and from there I learned what have I done wrong for me to experience an error like that.

  1. What is Bandwidth? On Steemit by @mohsan0073
  2. The Bandwidth problem on Steemit by @rkrijgsman

I never pay attention to the bandwidth even if I can see it. I don't know what it is for and I didn't mind knowing about it anymore until I encountered it today. After reading those articles, I was enlightened and I was able to know where the error came from and how did I ended up with that error.

These are the following things I think I never consider because I didn't know that it will affect my bandwidth.


Editing Posts and Comments


Yes I admit. Most of the time when I am posting something and re-read it again, even if there's a minor error I will correct it and edit my post. Sometimes I am editing my post 3 times and I never know that it is one of the factors that will make your bandwidth low. As mentioned in the reference post above, "Avoid editing your comment and posts." Be sure you have read it well before posting.


Frequently Claiming Rewards


I was so greedy that every time I visit my wallet, if there was a reward even if it is 0.001 SP, I will claim it immediately. But I found out that, that habit of mine was very wrong. Claiming rewards also affects our bandwidth so they suggest to claim it only in the morning or night. After all, those rewards won't get lost and will just stay there until you claim it.


Posting Comment Too Much


The key to success in Steemit is to engaged they said. But still too much will cause harm from time to time. That's what I've learned after loosing my bandwidth and reading articles about it. Commenting is good, but we still have to limit ourselves in doing so. If you don't have something important to say or something useful and informative that will somehow add value to the post, better not to leave comment anymore. "Don't Make Unnecessary Comments" as what @rkrijgsman said in his post.


Upvoting Too Much


Maybe if you have high amount of Steem Power and you have that scale and is using your vote wisely, you won't damaged much your Bandwidth. But with those who have low Steem Power, we have to be careful and limit ourselves to upvote posts and comments too much as it will also damage our bandwidth and also your voting power. Give a little time and wait for the both of them to recover.


There's still some factors that affects your bandwidth that was stated on the linked above, you can read it all there. But for me, I just stated the things that I am usually doing that made me loose my bandwidth without noticing it.

What I've learned about this error is that I should be careful in my actions next time. Bandwidth for my own understanding plays a role in Steemit (because it won't be there if it doesn't mean anything). In every action and transactions we are doing in our accounts, it affects our bandwidth. Loosing it will make you unable to post a comment or upvote for a certain period of time. Always check your bandwidth here https://steemd.com/@annazsarinacruz. Just replace my username with yours. I am glad that my bandwidth returned quickly and I am still curious why it came bask so fast. Is there anyone out there can explain it to me? I would love to hear your thoughts.


Thank you for reading my blog and I hope this can be a help to other steemian out there most especially to my friends; @ejeeywander, @mabethcruz, @sen.art, @jzonetravel who are new in this platform. I hope you won't make the same mistakes I did :)


annazsarinacruz~footer.png

Sort:  

I get the bandwidth error frequently. Even when my bandwidth is fine or near 100%. I just think it is a programming glitch! It seems to happen when you notice the entire system is slow then bandwidth.

Maybe that's what happened to me Yesterday. After getting a message about exceeding bandwidth I checked it immediately in steemd and I saw that it was recharging and then after a while it becomes okay again and it's on 99.98%.

I have checked and was fully charged and got the error! It is irritating when you want to get on to something else!

Agree! I was having hard time yesterday sending my comment to a post that I really wanted to say something with. It was first time to encounter that and I hope it would be my last.

Panic mode si misis nung nagka bandwith error 😁

Nako Sir muntik na din ako hehe buti napaisip ako mag search muna.. Pero bumalik din Naman agad nung pakalahati na ako Ng post ko. Ang kulet nga sir e. nakakaloka! 😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42