You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memethenews- SMTs before it was cool

in #steem-engine5 years ago

You guys are definitely innovating and that's really good to see. I'm still not sure if "soft consensus" is the way to go as there is still significant counter-party risk. You guys would certainly be capable of rolling this into a pull request with other witness support and actually make it part of the blockchain itself instead of using custom json everywhere....

That said, a good way to go for you would be to either open-source your weedcash version of condenser so that others can more easily follow your lead - OR enhance it so that it can be configured for multiple different tokens as per user preference.

I am involved in one strong community that is seriously looking at what you are doing but I think the barrier to entry / learning curve is still a bit high for them to do it without extensive developer support.

Sort:  

Woops. I didn't see the post about Nitrous. I'll keep reading :)

Well, keep in mind that there's benefit's to steem-engine not being based on steem too. We're able to fork our code without a need for a hardfork. We can also do things faster cause it's all through js/jsnode rather than C++.

I understand it would be more convenient if it was cheaper, but we need partnership goes both way. We need funding to continue developing. These things take devs and servers.

Maybe someone else will figure out how to do what we're doing cheaper... I doubt they'll figure it out, and I doubt it'll be cheaper. I did some back of the envelope math and we're 75% cheaper than running your own fork of steem because of witness payouts you'd have to do. So, I don't feel that bad.

If you're stuck on technical questions message me in Discord and I'm happy to try to help you get it right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50