How do I become an employable Blockchain App Developer

in #steem-dev7 years ago

I have previous App support experience and managed a Help-desk team of 24, over ten years ago. The IT world has changed a lot since.

I am a quick study and usually teach myself by doing.

Would I be better to buy a training course or are there sufficient free resources to teach myself to get on a project.

I am in New Zealand and havn't come across the NZ reps of #steem-dev so think that my best bet would be online learning.

I will be doing my own research of course, but I'm sure asking #steem-dev will have a fast track so I can get up to speed ASAP.

Any info appreciated.

Sort:  

GITHUB, look for simple projects, try to collaborate, and understand their code. If you ahve any cool idea that si simple start looking on how to do it, for example a simple webpage that shows steem price history. a calculator, calendar, I dont know, just came up with some idea and start building something :), break it, learn what happened and fix it, then continue building it.

If you have a github user share it here, I will follow you, mine is AugustoL.

Good call on looking through github.

Here's a link for all the projects tagged with steem:

https://github.com/search?q=topic%3Asteem&type=Repositories

Join github, make some commits, build up a reputation.

Cheers looking into it now.

Are you experienced with any programming languages already? If so, there might be a library you could use to help get involved and build things with.

If not, I'd recommend learning the foundational pieces of the language first before mixing blockchain into the equation :)

Python, Javascript, Java or Ruby all have decent libraries available for interacting with steem and would be good starting points!

There are libraries for Java and Ruby? Everyday I'm learning something new :)

Yup! I also have a very basic one for PHP too - but it doesn't do nearly enough. I stubbed out some functionality to build Reprint around and then sort of stopped building things in PHP hah.

Thanks for the advice, currently researching that now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87