Steem Cartoon : Things We Took for Granted

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

TF01_Cover.jpg

I was just walking home after a late night shift and I had many thoughts in my mind. I was back in the office to finish my unfinished work, had to make enough money for everyone in my family, I was tired. I thought to myself, why is life so harsh on me. I had been a good human and I don't do bad things to other and in fact, I do occasionally help them when I have a little extra. Shouldn't the world be a little more compassionate to me?

Practically I was bitching about everything in my life which I felt was tough on me. The long hours at work, the workload, the salary, the chores at home and other nagging issues that keep me awake at night. I don't quite like that feeling.

On my way home, I passed by a restaurant. It was the back alley where they threw away their waste. There was a man quite disheveled and dirty. He looks like a homeless man and he was picking up the leftovers from the garbage.

TF02.jpg

I felt nauseous because that is not how a human should eat. A human should eat on a table, have his peace and enjoy his meal because it is the grace from above. He doesn't deserve that. Nevertheless, apart from feeling nauseous, I was also a bit disgusted. I know it is not politically correct to say so, but I was.

TF03.jpg

Whilst lamenting how my life was, suddenly I heard this man saying his praises to his God. He wasn't complaining, in fact, he is thankful for having some leftover food from the garbage. The entire episode changed me. Here I am complaining about how life could have treated me better. How hard I had worked and etc, but I have the basic necessities that I need. I have a roof over my head, I have food on my table, I have people that loved me, I have many friends and you know who you are and I have some money in my wallet. Isn't that all that matters in life?

Why are we so concerned about the size of the car or house that we own? The money in our bank? If this man can be so thankful for what he salvaged from the bins, there is every reason for me to feel like I am the wealthiest man around. If only I can change my perspective and be THANKFUL!

TF04.jpg

Whilst I was drawing this, I feel humility. We are always complaining without really understanding that we need to just change our point of view and we will focus on the good things in our lives and be grateful because all these are blessings. I am thankful because I am loved by my loved ones and I have my basic needs taken care of.



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.@sireh

Tqvm... I believe everyone has their own talent and special way to contribute... good luck for your quest, don't forget to have fun while doing it.

this is awesome dude!!!! well done!!!! and yes let's thank every little thing in our life and enjoy the ride!!!! keep it coming and keep in touch!

Thanks bro... Thankful will give a peace to our mind and make us a happier person...

I love this! a change of perspective. we have so much to be grateful for! :)

Yes bro... indeed... Looking forward to #steem-music event this Saturday... will you be around?

yes I’ll be there! together with my family. see you! :)

Good reminder of perspective and great cartoon!

Thank you... it's a reminder to myself actually... hahaha!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Good one...i believe that when we are grateful even small things that we took for granted means a lot. Before i forget thanks for being a great buddy to me and giving me advice at the most appropriate time.

Hahaha... we have been in the industry together since 1994... through thick and thin...many of us didn't earn much... but still do continue for the love and passion ... and always be thankful and loyal to our friendship... you're one of them... I salute you for that...

Thank you @sireh for this post! It's so true. I live in Manhattan and sometimes when things just feel like you're getting pushed and pulled around and you're working to succeed at whatever it is you've set out to do, business and stress flying about...I stop and look up at the sky. I take a moment to remember I'm one human on this tiny island on a very large planet which isn't actually so large. I'm a spec of very quick light, really. With life being short, stopping to look at the sky gives me the opportunity to be thankful for the light I've been given. Anyway...loved this post. :)

Wow!... Manhattan... near New York right?... I wish can go and travel over there one day and taste the authentic @thegalavantgirl special home-cook... hahaha :) My Art Professor told me the art scenes over there are spectacular... so many Avant-garde Gallery, a bucket list for my "a must visit" place... huhu...

Yup...Sometimes, I love to write a story that touches me... something we can learn and appreciate... humor is only one of many approaches... but the real juice is the message underneath...

I'm having lunch, take out my phone, check out my Steemit, read your post, and I get tears in my eyes. Powerful story, thank you for sharing!

Welcome dear... thank you too for visiting my blog... I'm glad the story managed to get to you...

American living in Indo... i bet your life must be very interesting...I love Bali... 😊

Salam dari Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49