You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing With My External and Internal Critics

Great painting! However, I think there are some who use the "f the haters my art is great" to an extreme...(such as Logan Paul) I think there is a case to be made where art is actually very offensive to a majority of people, not just in execution but in intent, and the artist has a duty to listen, learn, and even apologize. I personally just learned about the RCDart fiasco, an artist criticized for fetishizing the trans community and depicting racist caricatures. While some still support the artist, if a community feels so strongly offended, it's worth a listen and even an apology, which the artist has yet to do.

Sort:  

I agree @corinneiskorean . As artists, we have the responsibility to be mindful of the message we carry. If we share our art with the public, we have to think of what kind of message we want to impart. We are not to be self-absorbed and do as we please, though it's very common to see people practice that. Personally, for me, I do not touch on sensitive issues (racism, religion, LGBT)unless I can depict them in a positive light. But some people don't care and maybe they do it intentionally to provoke, to create division and of course to seek fame and make money. And for me, that's not a good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43