Making Of: 'Friday Night' by chainsaw|clausen

frini_mo_011.jpg

Hey steemians,

I've written a little making of article about my artwork 'Friday Night' I've posted last night. (https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@chainsaw-clausen/friday-night-by-chainsaw-or-clausen)

Idea:

The idea was to create a scene which could straight come out of an classic point 'n click adventure (like Monkey Island or Day of the Tentacle). I love those games and had have many joyful hours of gaming in my childhood and pre teen era. I've decided to setup a scene which represent my alter ego (chainsaw|clausen) in his room in front of his computer. (like Neo in the Matrix movie). Sometimes I made a sketch before I start working on a new artwork but in this case it was freestyle.

Modeling:

The whole scene was modeled from scratch in 3ds max. I used a simple modeling technique. That means in most cases I stitched standard primitives together. The wardrobe for example:
frini_mo_007.jpg

The base object for all parts is a simple box. With chamfered edges and some extrusions it looks like a wardrobe with doors. Finally I added some deforming modifiers to give them a cartoony look. Every object was modeled like that step by step and placed into the scenery.
frini_mo_006.jpg

Texturing and shading:

Also nothing special. Simple tile able textures placed on the objects. (quick and dirty :D)
frini_mo_008.jpg

For some objects I created some hand painted textures and for other I used some photo textures.
frini_mo_009.jpg

Lightening and rendering:

For every lamp in the scene I've placed a 3D light to illuminate the whole scenery. Plus some additional lights.
frini_mo_001.jpg

frini_mo_002.jpg

frini_mo_003.jpg

frini_mo_004.jpg

frini_mo_005.jpg

The whole scene was rendered with Vray render. To have more control about the image, I've rendered a beauty pass and some extra layer (volume lights an z-depth).

Post work:

In Photoshop I've stitched all layers together. I added some extra layers for background and glow effects.

frini_mo_010.jpg
Last but not least I make a little paint over (the hairs for example) and add some color correction layers to reach the final look.

FridayNight_final_03low.jpg

Sort:  

Great job!... love seeing the process... happy to watch many awesome arts in #steem-cartoon... cheers!

thank you. me too. so many good talents

Incredible! I am very impressed. No kidding, it was really worthy to read! :)

thank you. I am very pleased to hear that. :)

I really enjoyed! Fact! The description of your process is astounding. :)

Wow this is so cool. I have so little clue about this kind of thing, I really enjoyed seeing the process you used to create this. I really like the slight deforming you did, that gave everything so much more character. The glow-y layers you added in PhotoShop look pretty awesome just by themselves, the third image down in that section (the darkest one with the figure silhouetted by the light coming from computer) is pretty awesome as a stand-alone. And yeah, the final outcome definitely looks 100% like ye olde classic point-and-click adventure game. So cool.

Cheers - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

thanks Carl, this is really kind. I'll definitely post more stuff with step by step explanation to show how I made my artworks. it's nice to see peoples interest ins this part of the process.

what a great post..really excited reading it @chainsaw-clausen hope to see more from you..cheers

thank you. yea I'll definitely post and show more artworks in the future and also try to show the process of the making. stay tuned.

Amazing work! Love the details and lighting.

This is super cool. Thanks for the description of your process, it definitely adds a nice depth to your work.

Your work is amazing!! Thank you for sharing this kind of process, it's very different from what I do, and it's very interesting and instructive! :-)

thank you Hélène. yes it is... and that's so great. many talented artist with different styles and techniques. it's very inspiring. especially to see how all of you guys did there work step by step. :)

Wow! the process..amazing artwork and detail @chainsaw-clausen

Image of Wow

thank you. haha that GIF is hilarious. :D

Awesome work. what i really liked in this is you design so many cartoonish model with simple tools and it looks beautiful. I also liked that different type of renders. Great job.

thx buddy. I appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95