Figuring How Best To Cut The Top Off A Steel Drum

in #steel7 years ago

This morning I ran over to an auto repair shop and picked up three 55 gallon drums for $30. My plan for them is to cut the tops off, drill some holes in the bottom and use them as burn barrels. Long term I want to use them to make charcoal and biochar. First things first, I need to get the tops cut off. I'm still formulating a plan for that, but my thought right now is to get some cutting wheels that will fit on my grinder and cut the top off that way. I would love it if, after I cut off the top, it was able to be set back on the drum to cover it. I'm all ears if you have better ideas on how to get it done. I have a battery powered reciprocating saw, but I am not sure it has the power to cut off a steel top. Thanks in advance.

Sort:  

I have a barrel stove kit and I used a grinder to do the job. it worked great to cut through the metal. my idea is cutting around the side of the barrel so that you can put the lid back on. and possibly weld or drill a hinge to the lid and barrel to open and close the lid.

Oh, I like the idea of the hinge. That'd be cool. Thanks

I've cut barrels with a jigsaw and good quality metal blade before. If you're looking to set the lid back on later, cut about 1-2 inches down from the lid. Once cut, crimp the barrel top to reduce its overall circumference (you could also cut slits into it and let them overlap each other). The lid should then fit over top of the barrel.

I was planning on doing something like that with the barrel so I can set the lid back on top. But a hinge sounds pretty cool too. I will have to see if my jigsaw is up to the task. My grinder might be my best option. Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63