You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem is on Sale - About Market...

in #steeam6 years ago (edited)

Just so you know, I'm building a frontend that filters out any promoted posts giving a trending feed back to organically trending content. There's also a bit more emphasis on vote amount rather than stake only.

Hopefully other devs will follow suite and there'll be multiple options for people in the future, who wish not to spend their precious free time scrolling through promoted content. They shouldn't be forced to, that's my opinion.

Sort:  

I think promotion would not be a bad thing if they were promoting meaningful things, I mean you make a release, why not promoting it? but not as for the abuse just for the sake of "mining" with almost any shitpost they want to send to trend... I feel very proud the community sent me there once... organically... I cannot say I will never used them... maybe sometime I think I have something significant of the inversion but the abuse makes it almost like a bad thing to be there... and certainly gives a dismal front-face to the platform to outcomers surfing in

"I think promotion would not be a bad thing if they were promoting meaningful things" - Well that's just bad for business, sadly. It's been that way since the start of promotion bots and that's why I'm finally trying to at least make staying an option for myself by building an alternative view into Steem blockchain. I rather not look at trending anymore and that's a very bad sign for the longevity of this platform if change doesn't happen.

Steem has been a joke as a content platform, and those who are having doubts about it just take a look at our trending to confirm it. And even worse, the trending makes our own good content creators feel worse also. There's so many negative aspects about it but because it's very profitable, it does not matter. Short term profits over everything else, that's how the world runs around us, Yidneth.

Sorry for late reply, took a little vacation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94