You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - External Indicators

in #stats7 years ago

Useful addition to data analysis on steem.

Does the 30 tweets daily average = (all tweets + retweets) and is that from all UK twitter accounts?

Personally I'd like to see daily average tweets as the headline in the analysis then the geography (love that btw - basically a map of UK cities!) then the rest.

If it's 30 a day that's low: how many steem tweets would I need to make in a day to top the leaderboard?

Cheers. Love these analysis posts be interesting to get comparative data over time - although binning my month will be much more informative in the long run.

Sort:  

The 30 day average does include all tweets and retweets from that location. Twitter data can be searched by location so I have searched by the major cities within a 25 mile radius. I think this works quite well at capturing most of the tweets in a region, I will obviously be missing some.

I agree daily averages would be a better headline then totals for the map as the next part of the analysis.

30 a day seems very low, I searched US cities and there is much more coming from those. I may extend the search radius there before posting these as the cities are more spread out but there is significantly more twitter activity coming from the States.

Thanks again, great analysis.

I'm tempted to game twitter in the coming week to get a free mention! Now I'm on my laptop (rather than phone) I can see that all I need is 10 measly tweets to be the 'top tweeter'! (assuming all other things remain equal).

It's interesting that it's so low for the UK compared to the US, but you'd have to do any comparison on a per-steemit user-per-country basis for it to be meaningful.

Definitely extend that search radius for the States, I think: there are SO MANY problems with getting the metrics right aren't there! As long as yr clear about what methods yr using it's all good though, great analysis.

As I've said before, it's useful to actually have data ( however you 'filter' it) rather than just speculating about the growth of the platform based on intuition.

Karl.

The top tweeters I have shown here are ordered by number of followers so some people are tweeting much more but they are way down the list with respect to followers.

I was looking for the twitter accounts that have the most exposure that are tweeting about Steemit. How many twitter followers do you have by the way?

I really appreciate the input. I am going to put this stuff into regular reports, the key will be to monitor over time how these are trending but I wanted to start with some exploratory analysis as to what works, whats misleading, whats possible before producing regular reports.

I have a measly 2.8K or something like that, so I might not feature!

Incidentally Facebook drives 2* as many people to my WP blog compared to twitter and I have much less of a following on Facebook (I don't really like FB) - as in 10* less.

Twitter gives me about 500 hits/ month, FB 1000 and the other 398 550 come mostly from google searches, so although I love Twitter (it's just my thing - there's more intellectuals there) if steemit's anything like WP yr starting with the low hanging fruit!

I can't do a comparative ananlysis of what drives traffic to my steemit blog as I've no way to access the data (I don't think).

This is really good to know, it will definately be interesting to get some stats on Facebook traffic. I might have to sign up to use the API though 😒

I don't think the data is available for traffic on your steemit blog, not through steemit.com at least. Are there any plugins for WordPress you could use to display your steemit posts on your blog. You could direct traffic there to get your analytics.

I've decided FB is worth using even though I don't like it! On the WP it's .com so I can't get that many useful plugins. Shouldve gone .org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70