How many users are on Seemit?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #stats7 years ago

I provided some analysis yesterday on the number of users signed up to Steemit based on how complete the profiles are.

Today as a supplement to that analysis I represent visually the activity across all the accounts created on Steemit by looking at the date of the last post. The colour represents this with dark blue showing no posting and lighter shade showing that there has been some posting activity on the account.

You may wish to get some background to this post by reading yesterdays post

Account Activity


This first graphs is a little difficult to see so lets look at it on the log scale.

Dark Blue = No Posting
Light Blue= Some Activity

Log Scale

Clearly there is a sizeable chunk of accounts created that have no posting activity. Why do you think people create these accounts?



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

People do it simply because it looks interesting or someone told them to do it. As humans, lots of things sound good to us and then we turn around and put off following up. I would guess most who sign up end up doing nothing especially while we are so small. If Steemit starts gaining traction, then you will see a much higher rate.

My guess is that we run about 5% of true posters versus number of people who sign up. Hence 4M people will mean about 200K will post. That ratio could increase as we grow in size since those signing up will have some idea what they are getting int.

Interesting analysis.

I was also curious to see how this has changed over time. the proportions in 2017 seem fairly consistent.

I think it will stay fairly consistent @eroche until there are over 1M members. Below that, it is still too unknown. People sign up because they are told about it and to take a look. The word isnt out. When someone, a non whale, is able to tell their friends that they joined and are making $50 or $100 a week blogging on there, then I think you will start to get people referred here who will participate.

Also, we are going to see a simultaneous explosion in the publicity of cryptocurrencies in general. This will make things a lot easier for people to understand as they are aware of what cryptos are about. Saying you earn Steem makes people's heads spin. However, when they are aware of wallets, exchanges, and see the potential, then you will see another lift upward in terms of the participation rate.

I bet Reddit and FB do a lot better than 5%. I would expect that rate to be at least 10% by the end of 2018.

I agree with taskmaster4450. My wife signed up because of my passion for Steemit but has yet to post anything. As i become more familiar and invested in with it I'm sure she will start blogging. She is very into social media but has yet to see where Steemit fits in the overall picture. Hopefully with these new Smart media tokens that Ned has dicussed there will be much more interest to get involved.

I see internal market traders like these accounts. Often their rep score is 25 but their wallets are fat. By not posting, commenting & upvoting they don't get any attention. To find them just buy and sell on the internal market and see who most of the big buyers and sellers are and then check out their accounts. You will see that they also control the internal market price by trading simultaneously on both sides of the trade. There is one blogger you does this 24/7. Very smooth. Also maybe some bloggers use these accounts to store money. Always interesting to check out their account value especially if their accounts have been around for a while and have lots of funds with no posts. What a waste of valuable upvotes as they often don't upvote at all. PS eroche thanks for the invite much appreciated but I don't go to pubs anymore and Tralee is quite a distance away.

Steemwhales.com only has 200681. Here's the last rankings page https://steemwhales.com/?p=8028&s=total Stats at the time of this comment.

Another suggestion - why not look at people who achieved > 25 (the default) reputation? Say 26. That requires a least a reasonable level of participation beyond a single post.

I like the sound of these ideas. I'll give a few a try during the week to see what pictures emerge.

Awesome - the truth is out there! Just watch out for the devil in the details...

Amazing analysis....great work upvoted and following you for more

Thank you.

always do the best @eroche, Thanks for share a good information, I will Resteem it..have a nice day brother..

Warm regard from Aceh

Thanks as always for your support @dilimunanzar. I am going to a Steemit Meetup tonight so it should be good :) I hope you have a nice day too.

waaahhh..nice to be hear about, have a nice meetup brother, please send my regard to @deanliu and @ygern, and before you go please read my post first, this is for you are..

Do people create extra accounts and then only use one? I nearly did that when I started and decided to just post under one account.

Also it seems the two "humps" have greater participation by accounts although it is difficult to say with the granularity there. A weekly or monthly time frame would probably eliminate some of the noise.

I think I have a theory what some of these accounts are being used for:

#Steemit-Abuse

My latest case accounts for some 300 such accounts without posting activity. My previous cases add another few thousand to that list and I am sure there's countless more like it that haven't been identified yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46