You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Statewars - New York City -

in #statewars7 years ago

Another great homage to your city, Maru! As another fun fact from my childhood, I also went to Ellis Island for a field trip in my last year of school living in New Jersey. I was able to find my great-grandfather's signature from when he came over from Denmark in the early 1900's!

He had already passed away when I was born, so I never got to meet him. It has always stuck with me seeing his name as the start of that side of my family in the US! Especially since I still have the same last name. :)

Sort:  

This is great @plantstoplanks! See my family from my father ‘s side is from Syria. One of the brothers of my great-grandmother came here to New York, I saw his signature but at immigration they changed one of the letters, they changed the c for a k: Harraca for Harraka.

Oh wow! That's neat to be able to trace back things like that! I know a lot of people changed names either voluntarily to be more Americanized, by accident or ignorance.

In their case it wasn’t voluntary... but it is ok I guess, it was at that time a huge language barrier, not not English at all. :) I hope you have a wonderful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51