Statewars - New York City -

in #statewars7 years ago

This is my entry in #steemusa's STATE WARS

The second day’s topic is Favorite City

So Yes, I am sticking to what I know best NYC, and this are just a few of my favorite things to do here.


Central Park


EB69603F-036A-4588-8CE4-A28EEF343084.jpeg

There is no doubt that Central Park is one of the most famous parks in the world, but also the most frequently visited. It’s set in the middle of Manhattan, you will find musicians, athletes, daydreamers, strollers and bicycles.
Central Park is a very interesting place and if you feel like exploring, this is the place to go, because it contains 36 bridges and arches, 50 fountains, monuments and sculptures, and 21 playgrounds.



Empire State Building


B5F8DAF9-5074-44DF-9C32-8B03D79A8222.jpeg

The Empire State Building is located in the center of Midtown Manhattan.It has two observatories, one on the 86th floor and the other on the 102nd floor proving a 360 degree views of NYC. So, it is a great way to feel the heart of NYC on the top of this building.



Times Square


FB50011F-EC92-44AF-A5F4-E7C1E622F2B1.jpeg

Times Square is a junction filled by known retailers and restaurants.
Lights, digital billboards, a lot of people, musicians, costumed characters and not costumed, you can for sure surround yourself with all of that, including One Time Square, the building from which the ball drops on New Year’s Eve. One more thing, at night time it is very bright.



Rockefeller Center


FC290130-E9C3-4EB1-9028-9C8CE91B34AA.jpeg

Rockefeller Center during Christmas time is my favorite place to go to. I love the annual Christmas tree lighting and the Ice skating rink, nothing better like skating Rockefeller Center. 30 Rockefeller Plaza is the building GE over the plaza. I had in the past the opportunity to be up at the 30th floor and the view is breathtaking.



Brooklyn Bridge


BB79AA32-7FE7-4EBB-A06B-A216FF4E4AA0.jpeg

Walking across Brooklyn Bridge is such a great activity. I remember I had such a great time crossing this bridge with the company of my friends. The bridge is open 24 hours, so you can cross it when ever you want but at the sunset, in my opinion is the best time, you can take in the views of both Brooklyn, Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty while the golden hour.



Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island


76F79380-7AA0-44A1-AD4C-591FC42DAFAF.jpeg

9FA4B226-7752-49F2-BC2A-BFB53305D86A.jpeg

The Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World was a gift from the people of France to the United States and is recognized as a universal symbol of freedom and democracy. The statue rapidly became a landmark. Many immigrants who entered through New York saw it as a welcoming sight.
From 1892 to 1954, over twelve million immigrants entered the United States through the portal of Ellis Island, a small island in New York Harbor. In 1965, President Lyndon Johnson declared Ellis Island part of the Statue of Liberty National.
Here is the link for Statue Of Liberty and Ellis Island tours.
https://www.statueoflibertytickets.com/Statue-Of-Liberty-Tours/


Thanks @SteemUSA



Image sources
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Park
https://mashable.com/2015/08/02/endangered-animals-empire-state-building/
http://travel-media.hotel-discount.com/new-york-times-square
https://www.timeout.com/newyork/things-to-do/rockefeller-center-manhattan-ny
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brooklyn_Bridge
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/statue-liberty-was-originally-muslim-woman-180957377/
https://www.surfnetkids.com/resources/ellis-island/





~ Maru🌻 ~

Sort:  

Another great homage to your city, Maru! As another fun fact from my childhood, I also went to Ellis Island for a field trip in my last year of school living in New Jersey. I was able to find my great-grandfather's signature from when he came over from Denmark in the early 1900's!

He had already passed away when I was born, so I never got to meet him. It has always stuck with me seeing his name as the start of that side of my family in the US! Especially since I still have the same last name. :)

This is great @plantstoplanks! See my family from my father ‘s side is from Syria. One of the brothers of my great-grandmother came here to New York, I saw his signature but at immigration they changed one of the letters, they changed the c for a k: Harraca for Harraka.

Oh wow! That's neat to be able to trace back things like that! I know a lot of people changed names either voluntarily to be more Americanized, by accident or ignorance.

In their case it wasn’t voluntary... but it is ok I guess, it was at that time a huge language barrier, not not English at all. :) I hope you have a wonderful day!

Great city, I visited a couple of times when I was a kid :)

Thanks for the visit! :)

Thanks for sharing New York City with us. Rockefeller center looks so magical. Even though I hate the cold it looks like it would be an amazing place to visit around Christmas. Haven't had a chance to make it to downtown Chicago really during this time of year and want to do that as well for their German Christmas venues they have set-up.

I want to go to Chicago too, I didn’t know about the German Christmas and sounds very interesting, thanks for the info! :)

This is really good. I went to NY back in 2001 before all the stuff happened. it was a really neat.. enjoyed it! Good Luck

Thank you!! And to you too!

Of course I have to support this entry in State wars it is such an amazing city and this are all such fabulous Land Marks

Thanks for your support @tattoodjay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46