Steem USA State Wars: State Symbols of Georgia

in #statewars7 years ago

I am joining in on the #statewars contest fun @steemusa is hosting.  @plantstoplanks already did a really nice post about Georgia but I figured I would share some photos I took of one of the states symbols.

The Georgia state mammal is the white tailed deer.

Luckily the majority of Georgia is covered with lots of trees, even though we live in the suburbs, which gives them an ok habitat to survive in.

Every once in awhile these guys will wander around our neighborhood and into our backyard.

There is a wooded area in between neighborhoods where they like to roam around and probably use it as shelter.

They spook easily so getting a good photo is kind of tough, but it is nice to see them sometimes.

I took these pics a couple of summers ago, maybe I will get lucky and get some better pics this summer.

Join in on the fun and share your state symbols :) https://steemit.com/statewars/@steemusa/day-1-state-symbols

Sort:  

I was told a fellow co-worker of mine in Texas was playing golf and snuck up behind a baby white-tailed deer to pick it up (on a bet). Many laughs were had that day because as soon as he picked baby up mama came hauling and he went running as fast as anyone has ever seen him run before.

Great pictures of those deer. They spook very easily and are hard to get decent pictures of.

haha, mama deer will get you if mess with her baby :D

I am sure if you plant a veggie garden with lots of variety and no fences around, they will come right over!! That is what my friends who live in deer country tell me LOL

Nice shots!
As a Georgian, I can confirm that deer do abound here. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46