Get Your Amphibian On in Pagosa Springs - SteemUSA #StateWars Entry

in #statewars7 years ago

Colorado is back again to crush the claims of my competitors!

It doesn't even seem fair.

Best City, you ask?

hm.png

Well, in Colorado we don't need cities. We have towns.


We're back for round 2 of @SteemUSA's #StateWars! No self-respecting Coloradan would pick some urban jungle as their favorite, when faced with such amazing small towns nestled in the mountains.


Meet Pagosa Springs! Just one of those beautiful places. It's been my favorite for years. Every time I visit there I fall under its spell, not wanting to leave.


Pagosa is the home of The Springs Resort, the most impressive and upscale soaking spot in Colorado. With more than 30 commercial Hot Springs in the State, they are unanimously considered the best. The healing waters of Pagosa have been used for hundreds of years, since before The States were even States. This resort has 4-star hotel rooms and more than 20 soaking pools, with widely differing temperatures and mineral compositions. If you come to visit,be prepared to spend a little. This kind of bliss doesn't come cheap.



Humans need water. Most people have heard the fun fact by now, but The human body is made of mostly water. It should be no surprise that people who soak live longer, healthier and happier lives. For me, soaking is the best thing to do in Colorado. Pagosa Springs is the capital of soaking.


Pagosa is also surrounded almost entirely by the enormous San Juan National Forest, with all its offerings of endless outdoor adventure and recreation.


Wolf Creek Ski Area is only about half an hour away from Pagosa Springs, for the more athletic winter adventurer. They consistently boast the largest amounts of natural snow of any ski area in Colorado. People come from all over the world to ski the famous powder of Wolf Creek.


The Springs Resort is not the only option for soaking in Pagosa Springs. There are several other businesses that offer different prices and different amenities. There are even pools on the river in the town park that are free for round the clock soaking, so you can actually be a broke hobo and still enjoy the wonderful benefits of these waters.


If you're thinking about a Colorado vacation, I would strongly consider Pagosa Springs. It's one of those hidden gems you may have heard people talk about, but once you experience it yourself, you'll never want to leave.


None of the beautiful pictures in this post are mine. I have pulled them from Pagosa Springs tourism websites, all of whom would be happy to be featured in a blog such as this. The Springs Resort has a ton of beautiful pictures on their website, and I encourage you all to take a look. Additionally, http://pagosa.com/ offers several live-updating webcam shots of the town and the springs. I've linked to the sources of the other photos below.

Image Sources:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pagosa_Springs,_Colorado
https://www.pagosahotsprings.com/
http://gazette.com/colorful-colorado-pagosa-springs-a-restful-retreat-for-many-a-place-of-struggle-for-others/article/1596014
http://pagosa.com/
https://wolfcreekski.com
https://www.fs.usda.gov


I guess the only thing left to say is... My favorite city is better than your favorite city! Thanks for reading! Stay amphibious!




Sort:  

Colorado totally rocks! I lived in the Springs for a bit and I loved it! Tip!

I'd probably go to Pagosa Springs and never want to leave. I'd be quicker to fall under the spell of it than you lol.

Hi @chrisroberts! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Yes yes yes hot air ballooning over Colorado! I like that! 😍😍

I hope I get a chance to do that someday. Definitely a bucket list item. :)

Ohhhhh, definitely no doubts about it. You will never regret the money spend it on it!
Back in 2013, my husband and I went for a hot air balloon ride, in Upstate NY, Lake George area, and we absolutely love it!

Colorado is really high up on my list to visit since I have never been! Thanks for the travel recommendation. :)

Very nice, those springs sound very relaxing :)

They are incredibly relaxing, although the Pagosa water leaves you and your clothes smelling a bit like rotten eggs. ;) Worth it, if you ask me

Ah yes, most natural hot springs have bad odors, it is because of sulfur that dissolves deep down underground from the heat...

I was born in Colorado. One of these days I'll get back for a dip in Pagosa Springs. Awesome! :)

Thanks for sharing and thanks for sourcing all the amazing photos. I definitely want to visit here. Family be damned, they'll have to wait until my wife and I get to spend at least a week or two soaking in everyone of those hot springs until we find our favorite!

If I had to pick one of those big cities I would pick CO Springs. My favorite soaking spot is actually the Sand Dunes Pool, located about half an hour from where I live. It's a year-round larger than olympic-sized pool with diving boards. The water is always about bath temperature, no matter what time of year. They also have a greenhouse for guests 21+ with multiple pools, drinks and a sauna. It's an awesome spot.

I had never heard of this place but now I want to visit there

That's the beauty of Colorado; everything's hidden. Now you know ;)

indeed I do 😎👍😎

Pagosa Springs is amazing during summer. Winter is beautiful, plus there's skiing. http://Pagosanow.com has a great events calendar.

MUst check the link sounds an amazing place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49