Six reasons Why The Empire Strikes Back is the best Star Wars movie

in #starwars8 years ago


I know. I know. I wrote a post about why Star Wars is the greatest movie ever made

So I why would I write a post about why The Empire Strikes Back is the best Star Wars movie. Doesn’t that disprove my first post? 

Maybe it does. 

But I am writing this one anyone anyways. 

Most of the time the saying goes that the sequel isn’t as good as the original. And it in 99 percent of the cases that is true. But Empire changes that narrative. 

Here is why Empire is the best of the Star Wars movies 

1. Lucas said it had to be better than the first one. In numerous interviews Lucas says that the sequel to Star Wars had to be better than the first one. I think that is very telling. He never says that about Return of the Jedi, and you certainly can’t find it in any of the information about the Prequel trilogy. I think Lucas was young and hungry and he knew that if the sequel didn’t work then there would be no massive series of movies that he envisioned.  So he hired a different director Irvin Kershner.  Lucas wanted to get out of the director's chair and move into producing.  Hiring Kershner was a brilliant move.

(Read The Making of the Empire Strikes Back by JW Risler to see what I am talking about.)

2. The main space battle occurs early in the movie. This flips the script from most movies. Star Wars and Return of the Jedi both have their big battle scenes at the end of the movie. 

3. The Imperial Walkers. At first glance these seem to be the most worthless type of vehicle. How could these things walk over rough terrain? I don’t know. But they are still the coolest thing ever. They’re so cool, they make an appearance in the new movie, Rogue One. 

4. Frank Oz. Oz makes Yoda a living being. If Yoda didn’t work, then the movie doesn’t work. Take notice that inspite of all the additional CGI effects that Lucas used in the updates, Yoda is not touched. It isn’t needed. Yoda, the puppet, is a living, breathing being. Remember the movie was released in 1980. 1980. 

5. I Know. The Han Solo death scene in The Force Awakens is emotional. But it is nothing compared to the carbon freezing scene. I remember seeing the rerelease in 1997, when Leia looked at Han and stated “I love you.” And Han responds with “I know,” the audience I saw it with clapped with deep respect. 

6. The Reveal. “No. I am your Father.” I was seven when Empire came out. There was nothing like the reveal that Vader was Luke’s father to throw a seven-year-old’s world upset side down. Now, this reveal is just part of the culture. But for those of us that lived through it originally, remember we didn’t confirmation of Vader being Luke’s father for three years. Three Years people! Without this plot point, there is no prequel series, no Clone Wars Series, and no Force Awakens.

"No, I am your father."

So which Star Wars movie is your favorite?

Other related posts:

There have always been whales, there will always be whales--A lesson from Star Wars


Sort:  

Hi! @mctiller
My best star wars movie is "STAR WARS EPISODE VI RETURN OF THE JEDI".
why the movie is the best...
Speeder bike chase
Luke Skywalker vs Darth Vader vs Darth Sidious

They are so good, it depends on my mood. I think my top three episodes are 7,5,6

I love that someone else also thinks that 7 is one of the best as well!

It was a tough call. But I think they pulled it off. As I was walking out of the theater, I had a heated conversation with my girlfriend. Her order is 5,7,6. We ended up agreeing to disagree.

Star Wars always on:)

For me, episode 5 is slightly better than 6. And when I say slightly, I mean that it could almost be counted as a tie. I really love these two movies!! The one major thing that does it for me in Return of the Jedi is the final duel between Luke and Vader. The duel in Empire is amazing, but in Jedi, Luke isn't just fighting Vader, he is fighting his father. I love the tension and emotions in episode 6. If it wasn't for the silly little fur balls in Endor I would rank 6 before 5! xD

Good article Martin. To be honest I've never been a big Star Wars fan. Sorry. I did see all three originals and I think I liked them overall but not overawed by them. I definitely didn't enjoy the prequels. I saw the first 2 of those and didn't bother with the 3rd one. I respect your opinion though and am glad you loved this one. I will agree that the "Luke, I am your Father!" has become an iconic line and used in a lot of comedies. :) I'm sure in 1980 it was a big deal. :)

wow amazing very good 'STAR WARS EPISODE VI RETURN OF THE JEDI'

I'm not sure how the 2nd point makes it a better movie.

Don't be an Anakin. Admit Episode I: The Phantom Menace is THE BEST!

There are too many reasons to list.
Bring on the haters :D

This will remain the best unless movies are made on the Darth Bane trilogy.

Episode 7 was a disgrace. We should relabel it and give it to the Star Trek community.

I looked up your intro post and you're for real on your love for Episode 1. Interesting.

I'm also a Va Tech alum. Although long before you.

There are a lot things of Episode 1 that I like. Darth Maul, Podrace, and Sebulba was cool, just to name a few.

Best Star Wars movie though? Nope.

My love of Star Wars began as a child and I didn't realize how great Episode I is till years later and after reading tons of Star Wars books. It is such a critical plot building story. It gains so much more importance and demands respect once the Darth Plagueis book has been read, which essentially comes right before Episode I (http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Darth_Plagueis_(novel))

Awesome! Always glad to meet a fellow Hokie :)

I love the prequel trilogy for its complex plot. Palpatine playing everyone off of each other is just amazing. I love the new places, and creatures of the trilogy. And I certainly don't hate Episode 1. Just not my favorite. I've always thought it needed more Darth Maul, and it needed to show the people on Naboo dying in the camps to give it some weight. I respect it a lot that you profess love for TPM.

@slickwilly I now challenge you to write post about why The Phantom Menace is the best Star Wars movie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16