There have always been whales, and there will always be whales-A Lesson From Star Wars

in #starwars8 years ago (edited)

 Steemit is great. 

Let’s face it, whether you get paid a few thousand or a few cents for blogging without having to set-up adsense is still very cool. 

First of all I am not a whale, at least not as defined here on Steemit.  I currently give a post about thirteen cents when I click on one without any money on it. 

So maybe I’m a dolphin, or tuna, or flounder, or guppy. I don’t know.  

But there are others who upvote a post and send hundreds of dollars toward me. 

I’ve noticed a lot of posts about how this is unfair. 

I don’t think it is. 

If @dan or @ned upvote you you get a lot of money; they helped create this wonderful playground--so you’re darn skippy that means something. And you should be compensated accordingly. 

So let's talk about where else this works.

The Lemonade Stand

If my daughter had a lemonade stand, and my neighbors came and bought lemonade from her for a dollar a cup that would be cool. 

Now if my daughter had a lemonade stand, and Harrison Ford came by and paid her a dollar for a lemonade, do you think my daughter’s lemonade stand has the same value anymore? 

(Chewie...We're home.)

Of course it doesn’t! 

It’s worth A LOT MORE.  

THIS IS NOW THE LEMONADE STAND THAT HARRISON FORD BOUGHT LEMONADE FROM!

 (All Caps means yelling…) 

And I am going to use that in the marketing of my lemonade, excuse me, my DAUGHTER'S lemonade stand.

I can see it now...

Harrison Ford Drank Lemonade Here!

Speaking of Harrison Ford...

Let’s talk about whales in Star Wars

(See that transition. Amazing.) 

Star Wars: The Force Awakens made over two billion dollars worldwide. 

It made just under one billion here in the US. 

Do you know how much the two stars, Daisy Ridley and John Boyega made? At the most $300,000 each

The stars of the biggest US movie ever, made $300,000 at the most. 

How much did Harrison Ford make? 

At least 10 million.  And maybe as much as 20 million. 

Is that fair? 

Yes. Yes, it is. 

Harrison Ford brought real value to the movie. 

He brought people into the theater. 

He is a whale. That’s how it works. 

Carrie Fisher made about 2 million as Princess Leia. She had a lot less screen time than either Ford or the other two stars. 

And Mark Hamill, made at least 1 million dollars. 

What did he do?

He stared into the camera for ten seconds. He didn’t say a word. 

He got paid one million dollars

Hamill and Fisher are also whales. 

Notice that the actors that came first in the Star Wars universe got paid more than those that are newer. 

Yes. These three get paid more.  That's how this works.


The analogy works here on Steemit. 

It may stink to not get thousands of dollars per post because it wasn't noticed by the right person.  But at one point Ford, Hamill, and Fisher had to get noticed.  They didn't always carry such influence.  That's how this works.

Now remember the guppies of the Star Wars universe, Daisy Ridley and John Boyega?  Do you think they are going to make more money on their second post, excuse me, movie in the Star Wars universe?

You better believe they are. 

That’s how this works. 

Hang in there. 

Post every day. 

Upvote and curate interesting posts.

Get better at what you are posting. 

And have fun.

And May the Force be with you.           


Here's another post I think you may like:

Top Ten Reasons Why Star Wars is the Greatest Movie Ever Made.

Sort:  

Also if you make action figures; when star wars blows up you better believe you going to make money off star wars action figures.

Upvoted! Loved the comparison of the Star Wars and Harrison Ford. Although I have slighlty different advice for Steemers https://steemit.com/money/@saulius/my-receipt-for-earning-usd100-000-on-steemit

I like the Harrison Ford analogy, especially the part where Mark Hamill made so much. (Would be nice to see a linked reference though to back up that "really shocking" statement about him getting paid so handsomely to basically stare into a camera for 10 seconds.)

Nonetheless. I chuckled a number of times through your article, and that's the fun I enjoy having when reading good stuff. Thanks! Upvoted!

It was referenced in the link about the pay of the other actors. But I have updated the post with a link right under Hamil's picture.
The info comes from Variety, so I think they know what is going on.
http://variety.com/2015/film/news/harrison-ford-star-wars-pay-force-awakens-cast-1201666236/

How much did Jar Jar Binks make, because i think i'm him.

This is an interesting story, thanks

Star Wars is one of the favorite movies in my
Description using the Star Wars, I was allowed to read very interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60836.32
ETH 2449.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65