101 Startups #2 - LUXE: on demand car-valet services

in #startups8 years ago (edited)

I work with startups. My job is to find innovative hidden-gems in the tech industry.
In the following series of 101 Startups, I'll give you an overview of the best startups and apps I encounter.
I hope you will discover, and use these new services and innovative products.
@sebastien

For the first episode, I kindly asked @knozaki2015 to publish me in order to get a bit of visibility.
You will find the story HERE; it speaks about VESTLY, an app that makes you win real cash by investing virtual money on the stock market.


101startupslogoblue1ded7.jpg

Today's pick is called LUXE VALET

248069LOGO27cac.jpg

LUXE VALET is the Uber for getting a car valet.
Affordable, simple and uber-useful: Why parking you car yourself while someone can do it for you ?
Especially if it is cheaper than actually paying for parking !


HOW DOES IT WORK ?

Luxe works with an App. You need to download the app and to setup your credit card or apple pay.

Modu operandi is at it simplest: launch the App and point where you are going.
Once the price is confirmed ($7 per hour for San Francisco), the app will track your location in the background, so that a valet can arrive right on time at the location you decided (these guys arrive on a tiny scooter and put it in your trunk). On top of this, you can also add extra services like the cleaning of the car, fuel-up, and even oil changes.

IMG_22591eb4a.th.png IMG_2252fa2a0.th.png

(click for full size images)


MY EXPERIENCE:

I use Luxe almost every time I go to San Francisco for meetings
It is extremely convenient and if you stay less than 4 hours, it's actually cheaper than paying for a parking garage. This service helped me not arriving late at meetings countless times.

The app gives you lots of information, and once your valet is assigned, you can track him and even text/call him if required.

IMG_2254e66ce.th.png IMG_2253c49a2.th.png

(click for full size images)

Guys take a great care of the car. I have a V8 coupe car, something fast and playful. I used to be afraid that the dudes would "burn some rubber" but I always found the car in a perfect condition.
Overall, it's a 5 starts white glove service.


BOTTOM LINE:

Difficult to beat a Valet service which is simple AND cheaper than parking garages: It's the best option you can use to move around in a city with your car.
As a result, it is probably my favorite service in San Francisco.
It's also available in multiple other cities like Seattle, Los Angeles, Austin or Chicago, and of course New York (check their site).

Find it on the Apple store HERE


@sebastien

I hope that you enjoyed and that you will try this cool app. If you did enjoy the reading and discovered a new cool service, please FOLLOW ME for more "101 startups" stories in the future.

Sort:  

Where do they put your car in the meantime?

They have contracts with other garages (bulk purchase), or have their own on the outskirts of the city (they generally drive your car 1-2 miles to park it)
That is how they reduce the prices, using ultra cheap parking solutions.

This is gonna be a very good series. Looking forward to seeing more of these in the future. Great post!

Love the idea and excited to see the featured Startups :)

Thanks.
FYI: @knozaki2015 just published me: a new 101startups episode about JUNO, a competitor to Uber!!

I'll be posting my own posts soon too.
Follow me :-)

+1
Great stuff !, looking forward to more 101 in the future, will be watching !

Appreciated!! It really makes me happy to read you.
Did you read the 1st episode ?

Hint: Next episode will be about a stealth competitor of Uber (25% cheaper !!)

just discovered you, i read over 8 hrs a day here now, STILL months behind, so MUCH great content !
A lady friend has asked me to start putting some ideas down on paper and get some exposure. So I am looking at different people to gage ? trust ? Time for ME to get my life back on track. I am not a writer, I am a thinker. I came here to learn more about blockchain and this incredible new function called steemit !, Loving it !
your 101 project has me intrigued !!
really good work !!!!

yes !!!jtstreetman46 · 12 minutes ago
+1 and following ! keep the 101 coming !

$0.00
1 vote
Reply Edit

Can you cover some non-San Francisco startups?

Sure!!
The 1st episode covered VESTLY, which is not from SF but from NYC.
I will also cover 2 more startups from NYC related to urban transportation very soon.

Please also note that LUXE operates all over the USA (their HQ location is a detail, right ?).
As per today, the 2 hot spots regarding startups are SF and NYC. I see some stuff in Seattle and Austin, but it is generally:

  • backed up by big corporations (ZipCar for instance), hence already democratized/known
  • or too early-stage to operate in multiple cites or with a invite-only beta mode

If you know startups that you would like me to test and promote, contact me in PM on the chat.
Happy to help and to discuss.

remember that my goal is to make you discover new services that can make your life better.

Sincerely,

@sebastien

Great I'll give it a try when I am in San Francisco! Although I never use valet where I live in Salt Lake City Ut.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41