Star Wars: The Last Jedi... I took my own advice and it was awesome!

in #star-wars7 years ago

I was incredibly excited to see Star Wars:The last Jedi on opening night. And that was my problem. I was excited to see a movie that should not have been made... luckily it wasn't.



I wanted to see a Star Wars movie that grew up with me. The original trilogy defined my childhood. The Fore Awakens felt like a love letter written to Han Solo and fans like me. I was foolishly expecting the franchise to mature just like I have. Thank goodness it didn't! (That would have been very selfish of me)

When I was a kid I didn't care that I really didn't know anything about Obi Wan Kenobi, how Han and Chewie became friends, or why dropping one proton torpedo into an exhaust shaft would detonate a space station the size of a small moon. I just sat there, watched in amazement, and enjoyed.



How did these characters all come together? What are their motivations? What are their pasts? Oh who cares?! Blow some stuff up!

That is how Star Wars movies are meant to be consumed. They are not meant to be analyzed to death. Sometimes characters don't need a back story. They just need to do cool shit.

Today, when I saw it in true IMAX, I took my own advice and turned off my brain. I stopped worry about why things happened and just enjoyed them happening.

As a side benefit, because I wasn't busy analyzing every detail, I got to enjoy the music... which was awesome!

Yes I am so much smarter than a Star Wars movie. Hurray for me! I am "too smart" for a movie aimed at 13 year olds. What an accomplishment! (What is markdown for sarcasm?)

My Geeky Dad's Guide to Star Wars: The Last Jedi made it seem like the movie was flawed.

No.

I was flawed. My expectations were preposterous. I was so busy focusing on what the movie didn't have, that I missed what it did have...

Fun!


Enough fun to fill a Corellian freighter.

Although I still believe every word of my review is true...

Who cares!?




Who cares if there are plot holes?

Who cares if there are unexplained characters?

Who cares if creatures are just thrown in to entertain little kids?

Who cares if my questions remained unanswered?

Who cares if some really, really unrealistic things happen.

It's freaking Star Wars!!!!!

Today I took my kids to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

We had fun.

Mission accomplished!

May The Force Be With You.

Images 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

I'm like you I saw it at the earliest possible showing. And I loved it. It threw out all expectations and added some new ones.

I wrote not really a review, but a blurb about the movie when I got home. https://steemit.com/starwars/@mctiller/very-quick-non-spoiler-review-of-the-last-jedi

(Is there a reason for a second account?)

I use this one for fun. I usually do short twitter-like posts from this account. I started it when zappl first started. I want to support the short post initiative but don't want to be greedy. I think the jokes are funny but I don't want to take advantage of the people who follow me for my regular posts.

I figured I'd do this supplemental post from it for the same reason. I didn't think it would be fair to my followers if I posted 2 reviews of the same movie. Especially since this post was much easier to make. This one took me less than 30 minutes. My others take hours. I thought about doing a "declined payout" but I wasn't sure if those still cost people voting power.

Long story short, I am very appreciative that I have so many loyal follows. I don't want to abuse that or be greedy.

There you go, over the top positivity! That's more my style. I always see the glass full, even when it's only half full! The music really was amazing! I listened to those cds of the original soundtrack to death, certainly incredible.

The song when Luke is walking out (at the end of the film) is incredible

LOL. Yep. I forgot what Star Wars was all about for a minute there. I'm better now.

Top notch. I can't wait to see it myself and forgive it those plot holes and silly characters! :0)

Thanks! Yeah I was way too hard on the movie the first time. It's freaking Star Wars!

It's easy done for all of the reasons you outline above but when we see it as kids do... Joy!!

Awww! I'm so glad you had fun this time! It takes a great level of maturity to recognize there are plot holes & all the other things on your list...and then Choose to ignore them for the greater good! Perfect parenting :) And adulting :)

Thanks! I think I've got the movie watching part of parenting mastered. Now I just have the other 4 billion tinges to worry about. LOL

Haha! I know what you mean :)

Doesn't it seem just a little bit sad, though, that one has to - in your words - turn off one's brain to enjoy the movie?

I get what you're saying and you have valid points, but I'd argue the original, classic trilogy, despite all its flaws, became worthy of analysis and discussion. There were some deeply spiritual ideas introduced that still resonate to this day. Consider some of the phrases Yoda said to Luke during his training. Simple and brilliant. While still being funny and entertaining for the kids.

Ever since the prequels, internal story logic and common sense 101 have taken a huge step backwards, in my opinion. I agree these are fun movies designed for (mostly) a younger audience, but there's a reason we so wanted to know the background of characters like Yoda or Boba Fett. They were fascinating & compelling, and they felt like they had a lived-in universe history.

Anyway, just my $.02. Glad to hear its still possible to enjoy the new film, just a little sad that it largely falls apart story-wise with anything more than cursory examination.

Totally agree!!! Star Wars isn't just a film, it's an event. It had issues but at the end of the day IT IS a Star Wars movie

why dropping one proton torpedo into an exhaust shaft would detonate a space station the size of a small moon

I'm glad that Rogue One explained this though!

It's really not what I expected, but I didn't hate it. I wasn't miffed by the things you mentioned in your previous post, but I felt like it was bogged down by a lot of unnecessary stuff. This was certainly a Star Wars movie for a new generation, and I for one, welcome the change. As every character in the movie kept saying, out with th old and in with the new. The Jedi Order is dead, long live the Jedi Order!

If I have to mention a few gripes though... what was the point of Snoke and Phasma!? Haha! I felt that TR-8R had more purpose!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63