STACHPOETRY CONTEST #2-THEME: HAPPY ENDING | RACE TO PERDITION

in #stachpoetry6 years ago

The second edition of the @stach sponsored poetry contest is out. The theme for this one is Happy Ending. You can read more about it here.

I am not good at writing happy stuff. I don't think I know how to write stuff about happiness, so the first edition was a difficult do. This edition is also about happiness and I am curious as to what my poem would mean for the judges.

This is my entry for the contest though, I hope you like it.


fear-653629_1280.jpg
Photo by foto-rabe on pixabay.


RACE TO PERDITION


The sun crumbles to motes
On the uneven road
As dust raises its skirts
To flee the thud of running feet.
The world is still
And the wind is swift,
Whistling into ears
And wrapping around troubled feet
That race towards the fear,
Towards a kind of hope.

The door swings in the silence.
The cringing squeak peals an absence.
The feet stop; sweat blinding eyes
As breath cease and start,
Choked with worry and fear.
Where's she?
Where is the bone of my bone
And the flesh of my flesh?
Deep breath inhale and exhale
And the feet step into the nightmare.

The room is a tussled world,
Broken in like a juvenile princess
Finding painful truth
Beneath closed lids and bruised lips.
There are shadows of a battle,
Fading screams leaving echoes
On empty window sills
And a memory forgotten among
The tossed and tumbled destruction
That used to be a home.

Scream leave lips;
My bone! My flesh! What have I done?
It should be me
Lost in this debris of pain.
It should be me
Folded into rigor mortis
Awaiting the mortician's curious cut.
Scream leave lips and heart breaks
Then a whimper, a sniffle breathes and
Eyes and ears search.
Broken feet surge forward with hope,
Crunch through broken things
And there, under the bed, is she.
My bone, my flesh; she lives.
Feet stop, a smile, a sigh.


FINIS


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Wonderful post, as always! I love reading your poetry and stories. I was glad this one had a happy ending because I'm a sucker for happy endings :)
Ivy

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Well i pray for you to keep relax and enjoy your life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61952.36
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64