Bite a finger or two

in #stach6 years ago (edited)

It's lunch time. A lot of persons are probably still thinking what to have for lunch, while the some are just snacking on whatever comes in a tray and crosses their path. Well, I think I may have a solution to this pitiable condition. Wait! Don't go to the market just yet, let me tell you about this wonderful delicacy that stole my heart some months back. In a land of food condiments, cutleries and stomach, the destiny of a great people, the Akwa Ibom, people rests on the shoulders of an amazingly palatable dish, it's name;

EKPANG - NKUKWO
Ekpang-Nkuwkow-The-Trent-ee.jpg
image source
ekpang Nkukwo, commonly known as Ekpang, is a meal rich in protein and vitamins. It is also rich in carbohydrates, calcium, phosphorus, amongst others. A famous website for Africa dishes has this to say about this dish
Ekpang Nkukwo is very native, not only in its name but alsp in its taste and preparation and no matter where you are when making this, you'll feel every inch of an African

Just before you drool all over yourself, prepare to make this dish yourself. Get yourself up from that seat and go gather up the following INGREDIENTS;
Cocoyam, cocoyam leaves, water yam, fresh pepper, shrimps, stockfish, kpomo, dried fish, crayfish, salt,palm oil, periwinkle [optional but highly recommended], bongafish, curry leaf, scent leaf, and dont forget your pots and bowls.

Now wash your hands thoroughly. Don't dare take a bite off any of those raw fishes. Good! Let's get cooking, but I'll be quite fast.

*First, peel both the Cocoyam and the water yam. At this point, don't rub your hands on your eyes even if it's itching. Now, wash and grate the two. Mix with a pinch of salt.
*Pour a little palm oil into the pot, sprinkle your washed and already cooked periwinkles into the pot.
*Get the cocoyam and wateryam together, and wrap the mixture with cocoyam leaf. Arrange it properly in the pot over the periwinkle. images (6).jpeg
*Gradually add hot water to steam it up, and cook till the cocoyam leaves changes colour to brown.
*At this point, it is expedient you add all other ingredients needed, stir, and if necessary, add enough water to a fair proportion and set to cook on medium heat for about 20minutes. Good job!
*You are almost there, but don't forget to cover your pot. More palm oil, scent leaves and salt to taste.
*Cover and allow to cook for 5minutes.
Niiiice! Turn off your gas cooker or stove.
Tahdaaahh your Ekpang Nkukwo is ready.
Bon appetite!

Remember my instructions always, if yours doesn't look anything like the images below, do not consume what you have made in order to avoid self-induced food poisoning. Thank you.
ekpang-nkukwo.jpg
DPpl61WW4AAiq2a.jpg

If you did the job right, well done! Enjoy your meal
unnamed.gif
don't forget to DQmS6iGZyFHebLbWocFUrn7iG2RrD3qTQY6QSV2cLMMQanP.gif

Thanks to @mutitum and @air-clinic for organizing this food contest. I feel good joining this.

Sort:  

Yea Ekpang Nkukwo is really a delicious delicacy

And you should prepare it during very special occasions. Thanks acknowledging my post

Oh boy!... I literally drooled over myself here. You have made the son of man start thinking about food this Lenten season.

Lmao... I'm happy I made quite an impression. Please don't also forget to upvote this post as a show of support to my little kitchen project. Thank you

Hey I noticed your entry in the food contest. I love finding new meal ideas! This week I learned how to add headings, numbered or bulleted lists, and other features to style my blog. I think it would be awesome to use numbered or bulleted lists for formatting recipes! It was a quick online free tutorial. I shared it in a recent blog post. If you're interested click here to read it. Happy cooking!

Thanks, I just visited your blog and Followed you. Kindly follow back and upvote my post

This dish looks rich. Very rich. I am sure a small helping is enough to keep me feeling full for most of the day. Right?
Use bullets in your instructions next time so it is clear for us to read.

Thanks for the heads up. I'm happy I was able to make quite an impression, and I also do hope you successfully prepare it by following my instructions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58442.49
ETH 2554.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42