F*ck my Old Lawnmower....and my New one too!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ssglife5 years ago

These last few days off have been a big pain in the ass. My "Old" mower finally pissed me off enough to where I wasn't going to fix it. Enjoy this tale of my frustration.

My Pile of Shit Lawnmower

Around 3 years ago it was time for a new mower. My other mower was an old Simplicity from the 60's. It cut good but was getting old. I decided to get a fancy new mower with all the bells and whistles. There it was, a shiny new Cub Cadet.

Everything was good the first year. Oil was changed, new plugs and everything was greased. Then came year number 2.

It started with little stuff. A bearing here and a belt there. I thought it was odd these things needed replaced so soon. My other mower had nearly 60yrs of operation with mostly neglect and it still cut like a champ. Then the problems started getting bigger.

The wheel on the deck snapped off, the blades were paper thin and got replaced but then the PTO cable went out. At 2yrs old these things shouldn't be happening. I replaced the PTO, then it started popping out of drive. You would be cruising along and then nothing. Now I'm beyond pissed.

Since it only popped out of gear once in while, it was tolerable. Next the Bullshit plastic steering gear gets stripped out. now I'm mowing NASCAR style only being able to turn to the right.

I was hoping I could get one more use before I had to fix the steering gear. The mower started and off I went in Right hand circles.

I get done with almost half the back yard and BOOM. Engine oil all over my legs, the mower and the grass.

THE FREAKING ENGINE BLEW UP!!!

I couldn't take it any longer and up for sale it went. It took less than an hour to sell on Craigslist with a funny ad. Notice you can sell stuff for crypto on there?!?!?! Here was my ad.

Welcome to the Fam. My New Mower!

After seeing how badly new mowers were, I decided to go with something Heavy Duty. A guy down the road has a lawnmower sales shop. I headed over to see what he had. After telling him my story, he said he had a good one for me.

It was a Mid 80's John Deere 318. These aren't even considered lawn mowers, they are lawn tractors. It has full hydraulics front and rear, a PTO, power steering and Hydrostatic drive. This thing is a beast!

He delivers it to my house and shows me how everything works. I jump on and get to mowing.

Everything is going great. The front yard is done and it looks amazing. Nice lines and an even cut. I make my way around to the backyard.

I see the better half walking out to give me some cold water. Just then I notice a smell of burning rubber. She is giving me an odd look and asks what the smell is. I turn the blades off and raise the deck. Jump off and take a look under it.

The Main Drive Belt is SHREDDED!

FAK!!!

FAK!!!

FAK!!!


Needless to say I called him immediately. The new belt will be here tomorrow and he is coming to install and adjust it. He also said if I have any other problems with it I can trade it in or get my money back. That is far more than the big box stores were willing to do for me.

Keeping my fingers crossed tomorrow goes better and I'll have a great mower for many years to come. I hope you got some enjoyment out of my miserable story. Now that I look back it is kind of funny, it sure didn't feel that way while it was happening.


Proud member of Steemsilvergold!

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Oh man, painful story, but I know how you feel. I had a newer Simplicity with faulty OHVs, but it took several trips to the shop to figure it out. So frustrating, but I think you're on the right track with your JD. IMO a solid piece like that is worth keeping it going. Hope it works out for you.

Thanks @methus. I can't believe how shitty that Cub Cadet was. The JD is a great unit. I hope to get some implements for it. This is what I'm hoping for.

I am sorry for all your frustrations! Did you not know that it is lawn mowers that make mowing lawns interesting? And what about that excitement and adrenaline rush having to jump off that JD lawn tractor 🚜? There is always something, huh?! I look forward to what’s next on the day of the life of @vgholdingsllc!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @silversaver888. I really like the JD and hope it works out. It will be perfect for my mini farm. I have so much catching up to do on here. I've missed yours and every other post for the past 3-4 days. And I still have a dozen and a half bars/rounds from my last LCS run. Not enough time in the day. LOL

Lift the fence and buy yourself a goat, hehe.
Free milk.

I would love to have more goats but we vacation too much in the summer. We plan on getting some milk goats once we finally settle down in a few years. Thanks for stopping by @oldtimer!

You're welcome.

Thank you vgholdingsllc! You've just received an upvote of 62% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 0.62% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Sounds like what you really need is a little herd of goats!

Then I could be one of the Men who stare at goats. 🐐👀😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94