If you are a Minnow, stop voting Non ZERO Value Posts. Vote 0 Value posts in the range 25 - 35 Minutes

in #square6 years ago (edited)

fish-764148__340.jpg
This is the reason of the bunch of 0.000 you are getting in your Wallet . It happens to me and no one warned. In fact, I was making Orcas fatter and I not even making peanuts. Now, I am alerting Minnows

You're been killed by the √Square Root Calculation of Upvoted curated posts

mathematics-989120__340.jpg

Published by:
https://steemit.com/@justinomora at 3:15pm, January 03, 2018

Source Images by: https://pixabay.com

Sort:  

Short and on the spot. And there is fish. I liked that.

Thanks for this simple advice because I'm still learning basics of steemit & the calculations are very difficult for me.

I am going to help you in all the posts , please help me and follow me :D

Rules of Steemit.com

Never ask for follows. If you want to be followed you must produce high quality content. There no other way around.

Isn't it better to just vote for high quality content regardless of who wrote it and when it is published? The bots will always be one step of us slow humans anyway :D

There is 3 ways of accumulating FAT :

Network Development is critical for getting votes on your posts

That's also a good idea & I'm doing the same but we also have to maintain our own account & wallet to contribute more efficiently to this community.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Wasn't square root calculation removed in favor of straight-line distribution something like six or seven months ago?

While it would be beneficial for minnows to find fresh content instead of rewarding whales with more upvotes, if the reasons given are outdated then you are spreading misinformation.

That's right. To n (straight-line) from n^2 (square root calculation).

Minnows are getting low curation rewards because they have low steem power, low voting power (from voting too much), and vote before the 30 minute mark.

The 25 SP delegation received at registration is enough for a 1 cent upvote every four hours if minnows know to use it wisely. That's 0.002 curation rewards from everything they don't upvote early, regardless of how many votes it received before them.

developers decided to go forward with changing all content rewards to a linear reward curve.

Content Rewards is one concept, Rewards Curation, another. They are not the same. Voting Power is linearly with respect to Steem stake. Curating rewards run under Square Root Calculation as per https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/curation-reward-estimation-tool

Okay, yes. I stand corrected. I was aware that there was some method that shifts some of the curation reward from later upvoters to early upvoters, but I did not recall the formula. I guess I thought it was more gradual than this.

The 25% is still there, but then it's factored and if there's a lot before it then it can diminish by quite a bit. Much better to be the only voter at 30 minutes (for a sure 25%), with some chance of later votes than to be a minnow voter piling on after the whales arrive.

Sound advice. Thank you. Follow me for cybersecurity and crypto news and takes.

Advice

Don't just reshare @jerrybanfield. No sense reading him through you. You need to be more diverse in your resteems and also put your own content

I am beginning to do my own content. I use some of the things I follow from LinkedIn and am I starting to write up my own takes and ideas. I did some hard learning about the community over the holidays. More content to come :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @justinomora to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Just a n00b question after reading about the 30 minute vote window and the curation rewards... what happens with the votes given past that time frame?

After the windows install Votes start to accumulate so you get the square root problem

Thanks for the tool, looks useful, and will use it.
So, votes still can receive rewards, after the first window, but it gets complicated to know how much because that's how calculations are set up, right?
For how long are there curation rewards to be shared?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69