Splinterlands - Goblin Mech (Weekly Battle Post)

in #spt4 years ago

One of my favorite common cards is the Goblin Mech. When I first earned the reward card I ignored using it since it requires 10 mana to play. Since I got over the high mana requirement I have been hooked with Goblin Mech. Especially in high to 99 mana matches. The monster is a great tanker with high toughness and health. On top of all that it has pierce ability with a high melee attack. Most recently I have bought gold foil version of Goblin Mech and upgraded it to a level 5. I have been saving most of my regular Goblin Mech once I got hooked and am only 2 bcx away from a level 6. At that level an additional ability of stun is included, which is great at stopping opponents from attacking.

The Battle

The rule set is no magic attack monsters and a mana limit of 42. All splinters except death and dragon are allowed to be used and since I wanted to use Goblin Mech I went with fire splinter and Malric Inferno to get myself an additional +1 melee in attack. I concentrated heavily on using the higher melee stat monsters after Goblin Mech. Here are the results.

My Formation

I started out with Goblin Mech followed by Roc, Spearman, Ogre, Spy and conclude with Demon. It is after the battle and posting my formation that I realized I should have placed Spearman near the rear of the formation as it would become as useless as a dummy once it is at the front of formation. Besides that I think the formation was decent as I had all but one monster, Ogre, that could not attack in the first round, but assist in its ability to reduce opponent's melee attack by -1. All in all I see this as a good fire splinter package where I used my highest level summoner in Malric and a ton of high melee and range attack monsters.

My Opponent's Formation

My opponent similarly uses fire splinter and starts off with a Goblin Mech followed by Spy and a whole host of range attack monsters. I had to double check the rule set as I reviewed their formation since they were using 4/6 monsters with range attack. Although it would be a very aggressive first round of attacks their formation key weakness was that once Goblin and Spy were knocked out there would be front monster that could attack. On the other hand my opponent had a pretty high level deck besides Pyros being level 1 the remainder were decent levels and using a summoner at level 6.

The Battle Results

Right from the start it was a tight battle but my opponent was winning since their range monsters had higher speed and attacked first. However I was able to withstand most of the blows as my Goblin Mech and Giant Roc then aggressively attacked my opponent's front line. Once their Goblin Mech was knocked out it was pretty quick finish for the remainder of their formation. Again due to their choice of mainly using range monsters left them vulnerable. If you are interested in watching the match here is a link..

If You have yet to take part in playing this great game called Splinterlands please click on my referral link. It is free but in order to earn real assets such as cards and token you would have to invest in a starter deck or purchase game cards. Join the discord to learn more. Good luck!


THANKS FOR READING! CONTINUE TO PLAY SPLINTERLANDS!



Posted via Steemleo

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!
If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31