Spotlight Writing Contest #1-MysterioussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #spotlight7 years ago (edited)

images (2).jpg

I woke up to see myself standing in the room, while my body was lying down lifeless on the bed. My house was plagued with silence, as everyone has gone to their houses after the heavy birthday celebration in my honour the previous night. Full of fear and agony of trying to solve this mystery, I reached out to make a call, but my hand couldn't hold the phone, as it passed through it each time I tried holding it. I realized I lost physical contact with physical objects, though I still see them. " But which eyes I'm I using to see, my eyes are intact in my body?", I whispered to myself, as though there's hope for an answer.

unnamed.jpg

A thought to ask for help from neighbours crossed my mind. I needed someone to see what I saw and feel what I felt, maybe a solution can be attained when more than just me is involved. Reaching out to open the door leading to the corridor, I noticed my hand passed through it unhindered and I ended up passing through without opening. The experience was both exciting and scary. Exciting because I didn't have to push it with my strength, scary because I didn't feel anything like human again. Speed was another advantage as I raced down the stairs in seconds. Every door was closed, but I passed through all without a single push.
My movement seemed to follow my imaginations, as such I arrived Chucks's house in no time. All efforts to knock was to no avail, so I entered without a sound. They didn't notice my presence, as the couple we busy arguing on top of their voices. After much greetings without a single reply,I resorted to shouting " CHUCKS! CHUCKS! STOP, I'M HERE" . He didn't seem to hear me, not even the wife, who was bent on winning the debate over the need to have her separate account so she can have total control of her salary. There was no need wasting time to seek recognition from people that appeared unable to know I'm with them.

Since speed was at my advantage, I decided to visit my Aunt, Udeme, who lived in the neighboring town, Etinan to be precise. The roads were filled with people, cars and motor bikes. Everywhere was busy and nobody even seemed to see me, though that can be explained away by the 'mind your business' attitude of Uyo town and it's environs. Still in the thought of how to present this mystery to Aunt Udeme, who doesn't buy into new happenings easily, guess who came along from the opposite direction, my friend, Edima. Only luck could have brought her," but would she hear or see me?", I pondered as she approached, beautifully dressed in a pink top, with grey fitted trousers, pink leather shoes and a pink purse to match: she was usually fondly addressed as 'pink lady' for her love for pink colour. She passed me without even looking at me or saying a word. It was really strange, coming from my close friend, "could it be that she didn't see me?", I shrugged. I called her with the loudest shout I could, but she didn't notice me, not to talk of hearing. Even passers-by gave deaf ears to all the drama I staged on the road. I was just alone, seeing everyone but not seen by anyone. I could feel there's something wrong, but don't know what it is.

Aunt Udeme was busy with her baking business when I got to her house, a two bedroom bungalow, which housed her, her husband and her two boys. The boys were playing with their toys and I wasn't too surprise that none of them noticed I was around. "Let me try my luck, I know she won't ignore me like others ", so I thought. The response was the same: no response. All my greetings and screaming were not heard. I couldn't touch anything, talk to anyone or heard by anyone. It was a terrible experience. There was a sense of seclusion and eagerness to relate with people in the real world. There was emptiness, occasioned by lack of interaction with people. There was loneliness, filling my inner being with horror. There was fear that I might never be human again. There was confusion about what I am, since I didn't feel I belong to this world anymore. Everything was crumbling in that short moment, which seemed like eternity to me. I stood to reflect on how the whole thing started, where I got it twisted or things I did that I shouldn't have done. After all the struggles with myself to find a solution, but none came, I just stood looking at the atmosphere.

"Return to your house", a thought came to me. In frustration and deep ponderings on what to do, I decided to obey the only voice that ever spoke to me all through this misery: my thoughts. It was obvious I'm alone in the midst of relatives,friends and neighbours, not because they don't care, but because I can't reach them and they can't reach me. I was present with me, but absent from me and far from everyone within my reach.
As a last resort, I lied down beside my lifeless body, just to cool off and try to forget what's happening to me. I can't remember how long, but I woke up to realize it was just a dream.

Image sources:
https://www.google.com.ng/amp/s/nekosdrama.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/lets-fight-ghost-the-ghostly-girlfriend/amp/

http://www.trulyney.com/2016/05/08/bisbee/

Sort:  

Hi @greatness96 I ran a word count on your submission and it's a little slim. Please increase the wordcount over 2000 words and update your submission :) Good luck and thanks for getting involved with @spotlight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64920.85
ETH 3459.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30