Paddling Out at the Mill : #Sportsphotography

in #sportsphotography6 years ago (edited)

DSCF0962 (3).jpg

Paddling out at the mill,
Past floating sticks and debris,
You search for that perfect wave thrill,
Setting your heart and mind free.

For a moment nothing else matters,
All stress melting away;
The wind softly blowing and spraying,
Crisp salty sea droplets your way.

And then you see in the distance,
That wave that is rolling to you;
Rising and falling with such persistence,
Make ready its coming to you.

You turn and paddle with strides,
Watching it break on down the line,
Pulling you out as you start to slide,
Into that siphoning curling shrine.

Rushing water churns all around,
Cascades so brisk and cooling;
The roar of the wave consumes all sound,
Gusts pushing so fiercely yet soothing.

Exhilarated and thrilled by the dash,
Wishing it just wouldn't end,
You turn to avoid getting smashed,
Paddling back out, more time to expend.

You tell yourself just a few more,
But you know that you'll keep going out,
Till your body cant push anymore,
Then finally you'll head back for shore.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*~

This image of my partner in life who has always turned to the ocean for many things. Though I bodyboard I know the full sense of stand surfing is different from what I experience as a bodyboarder. I did my best to describe what that experience is like. Thank you for taking a look at my entry for #sportsphotography #photocontests by @juliank

Hope you like my poem

#poety #nature #ocean #surfing #sports #photography #life #love #writing #blog #steem #steemit

@originalworks

Have a #happy day, #happy365steemit #happy365steem

Sort:  

You know I live way up Mauka in Hamakua, we don't even get cell phone reception... I didn't even know it happened until the afternoon. I've had dreams though, that missiles blew up and killed me and my family, but when it happened I didn't feel scared because we were all together. I feel like if it actually happened, if we did survive, it would be tough but I definitely try to be in a space of freedom from that fear, its not anything I can change so I don't want to waste energy on it.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #sportsphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 12:52:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 191.45/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 21
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 0.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @janellelanae.

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @janellelanae to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This post received a 1.050 SBD (72.66%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @janellelanae! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42