You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The GOATs

in #sports7 years ago

I can get behind Dan the Man as the blockchain goat. I really need to start stacking EOS.
I agree that Tiger is the GOAT. Damn shame those ambien induced sex romps cut short a great career. I know they say it's his knee, but I can't help but feel like Tiger could not recover from the drive by media onslaught after his wife attacked him.

His legacy also includes the first famous person to claim sex addiction as "a thing." I don't buy the sex addiction, but I think when his web of lies came crashing down on him it caused some sort of psychological trauma that he never recovered from. He completely lost his edge.

The only professional athlete you missed was Hulk Hogan (or is SCSA the goat?).

Sort:  

Ya! I totally think it was the scandals too. Obv neither helped, but seems more the scandals, like he'd have dealt with his injuries much better otherwise.

lol, ya the sex addiction thing is funny. I don't buy it either, I feel like his handlers probably told him that's the best thing to say, like that it becomes less about him and bad decisions if there's some "disease" or issue pinning him down.

I don't really get the moral indignation over Tiger. All he did was cheat on his wife. Which of course is bad, but the reaction to it seemed more along the lines of if he had committed sexual assault or he hurt people. Seemed like kind of a deliberate attempt to turn him mask, when infidelity issues, meh, don't seem like they would usually be that big of a deal.

I'd imagine what Tiger did is pretty standard for star athletes. He may even have thought he wouldn't get outed, like that he had the right connections or whatever and they'd protect his image.

So I don't really hold anything against him other than the media chose to change his story line for whatever reason.

One thing I wonder is if he changed his "training regimen" because of it. If he was using banned substances before, and now he's like "ok, the world is against me.. I can't trust who I thought I could trust" maybe he's skittish that he won't pass the tests anymore. And is essentially down a level against other people who feel free to use aggressively.

"I can get behind Dan the Man as the blockchain goat. I really need to start stacking EOS."

Full disclosure, I don't really own any EOS (other than a little handful on openledger), and not that much BitShares. My endorsement of him is more what he stands for and his efficiency at building multiple popular platforms, more than I'm endorsing buying the coins.

But ya, I'm not NOT endorsing the coins either hehe, you do you, just wanted to make that known. I actually don't know much about EOS, other than it's vaguely an Ethereum competitor?

EOS is weird, man. Was reading about it a while ago and it swirled my head real good. First you don't actually own any EOS right now, but after the ICO--which lasts about 340 days, scheduled to end this June. Then you get your EOS; then there's the a*(b/c) distribution of your conversion of the ether to EOS, where a and b and c are the amount of ether you buy with, the amount of EOS to be distributed, and the amount of EOS others have in total, not necessarily in that order.

Then ya buy it and its fixed and only transferable when ya get about 15% holder's approval and whatnot. Leave it up to @dan to fuck up ya head.

Ya, its crazy, but even crazier when I read their terms of agreement where they talked about EOS having no use or whatever. I guess that was just a disclaimer.

😲😲

that does seem very mind-bending lol

And ya, I forgot about that, I don't technically own any EOS yet.. still crowdsale

Weird about the terms of use. I'm generally skeptical of all coins unless it's clear to me what the point is.. like with Steem, whether or not it works out, it's kind of clear what it's attempting to do-- blockchain that stores content and makes censorship impossible. Seems useful, and seems like something bitcoin can't really do.

I may nibble some more on EOS, but skeptical, at least until I can wrap my head around it more.

Ya, man. But, of course, if there's a dude whose blockchain project you can invent in blindly, its @dan. Hence the GOATness.

Maybe. Maybe. I believe in Dan's intentions. Less sure what to think about the specific projects, and how they'll be valued.

Like I'm sure Dan is building it well and that's what makes him the GOAT! not sure how many blockchains we'll really end up using or valuing highly

The stories with Tiger were just so salacious. He even banged the Ponderosa waitress. Lol. He definitely just wasn't the same guy. It looks like from the outside, that he didn't really have the drive to rehab his knee, like say, Tom Brady did. I wouldn't doubt for a second that he was on PEDs. He was pretty ripped.

Did you have an opinion on the Dan / Ned drama? A couple weeks ago Ned downvoted a Dan post about EOS. Dan cashed out his Steem and cut all ties with Steemit, and ripped Ned on the way out.

I'll always be a Steemian, but I'm going to start stacking EOS because I believe Dan signaled his intent to create a Steemit competitor (which would explain the bad blood between the two).

I can see why Ned would be upset about that. But Dan is the brains and probably needs a new project to grow. At the end of the day, most people will support both platforms IMO.

I saw a little of the drama!! I struggled to form much of an opinion.. it was like "ok Dan being a hero here" then you read what Ned is saying and it's like "hmm that kinda makes sense tho".

They're both smart, so I guess I just figured it would take a lot of effort to uncover what's really going on and have a good opinion. What do you think about it??

Well I guess you kind of answered... ya, I could see Ned being kind of like "ok, you bring me on here.. then you have a better idea and leave and make a competitor", and seems hard not to be annoyed even if Dan didn't do anything technically wrong.

And oh.. Hulk DOES seem like the GOAT to me. I definitely watched wrestling.. I mean I had like a 3ish year span of knowing what was up. But I don't think I have a complete enough picture of it to really crown a GOAT.

If I read a little, Hulk may seem clearly GOATable and able to be included in the next batch. We'll see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57914.43
ETH 2289.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47